Travel: 5 Minute Freewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago

One of the things I like most about living in Los Angeles is that the city is so large and culturally diverse that you can take a day-trip in your own town and feel like you've gone traveling.

To distract myself from not-the-worst/not-the-best news, my husband and I took a drive to Little Tokyo, a neighborhood in downtown LA that I haven't spent a ton of time exploring. We found a well-regarded and authentic restaurant that serves both traditional and vegan ramen, we window-shopped and shop-shopped in interesting markets, I drank a bunch of delicious matcha and we explored the James Irvine Japanese Garden at the Japanese American Cultural Center.

IMG_4943.jpg

My family traveled once or twice a year when I was a kid. Never internationally (well, Canada, but that's barely international from Michigan) but a fair amount within the States. Sometimes to beaches or amusement parks, sometimes to culturally or historically relevant sites. Occasionally to cities, and those were by far my favorite. Any city (of any size larger than the smallish town where I grew up) held my fascination, and I rarely felt more at home in my life than I did as my dad steered the van towards an urban skyline. It's little wonder I took a beeline to a metropolitan area as soon as I could. I still get a tingle driving through favorite parts of LA... or parts that I haven't yet explored. I could live a whole lifetime here and barely scratch the surface.

IMG_4941.jpg

For Daily Freewrite and Selfie Celebration

Sort:  

That is for sure!! LA is so big and has so many different faces that one can travel to a different "country" all the time. I think I read somewhere that LA is a city where all languages of the world are present - well, maybe not all, but most of them...

Congratulations @waterworks! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your Board of Honor.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 65292.16
ETH 2651.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85