House Coat: 5 Minute Freewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago

For https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-186-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-house-coat

It was velvet, usually. Quilted. It hung from her rounded shoulders to her ankles and represented everything, in retrospect, that I wanted to run away from. I hadn't thought of her house coat in years, perhaps because it was years since I ran.

When I was younger-- when she was younger-- I'd see the housecoat mostly on Christmas mornings, when lounging was permissible and snuggling ideal. As we both got older, the less she moved, the more she hid behind the shapeless fuzzy sacks with their long plasticky zippers and not even a hint of what lurked underneath. 

Robe. Muu-muu. Caftan. Just the thought made me cringe, until that light-breezy Saturday afternoon, in the sunlit warehouse where all the women had gathered. Baring all the parts my mother took such care to disguise. Holding themselves upright. Dancing without a second thought of someone else's thoughts. And then, there she was, this luminescent cherub in a flimsy caftan. The silhouette, when static, like my mother's house coat. But in the breeze? It was like she was disrobed.

Sort:  

My goodness. What imagery!

I did a thing! Thanks for introducing me to freewrite. :)

Yay for things! And for doing!

WOW! welcome to the freewriters!

Great first story!!

Thanks so much! I enjoyed the direction you went with coat-for-a-house, as well. I love all the different directions each topic can go.

it's my favorite part of freewriting :D

Wow!! I love it!! So glad that you joined the freewriters!! and I want to go to that warehouse and dance - sounds like freedom!

I really enjoyed this story! Welcome to the freewriting community! i highly encourage you to keep it up, you're really talented :) Just beautiful.

Anyway, I'm in charge of delivering the next prompt (which I really hope you'll do), so there ya go:

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-187-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-nail

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63608.16
ETH 2621.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77