Homeless: 5 Minute Freewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago

I tell you what-- I had a hell of a tough time coming up with an idea for a selfie for this topic. Such a tough time that I almost gave up. I didn't want to trivialize a human struggle that makes me ache, a struggle that I think I personally don't do enough to relieve.

I'm not homeless. I have a house, which is a damn luxury in Los Angeles. And I feel guilt about the circumstances that allow me to have this house. Privilege and chance. Not that I don't work hard-- I do-- but there are plenty of people who work harder and have less. And everyone deserves to feel safe and sheltered, everyone deserves to have medical care and basic dignity.

So I struggle with what I do, and don't do, to help the homeless. But just because something seems daunting, doesn't mean I shouldn't try. So finally I came up with my selfie: doing nothing won't help. Doing something -- anything -- could.

IMG_4975.jpg

For Daily Freewrite and Selfie Celebration -- come join us!

Sort:  

I feel the same. We have a huge homeless problem here in Dublin too and it certainly is a privilege to have a house.
It's your Wednesday prompt delivery technician here with today's prompt:

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-223-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-eyebrow-s

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16