The Thief - Freewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

The loudspeaker erupted with the monotone drone of a lady with a raspy cigarette-smoker voice.

"Flight 207 now boarding at gate 11. Please be prompt and have your tickets ready."
A loud screeching and fumbling followed the announcement, then the normal chaos of the airport in the Bahamas resumed.

I looked around. God, how could there be so much confusion? I grasped my luggage and turned to melt into that flow of people of all nationalities rushing toward the same gate.

From behind I was suddenly bumped, hard. My purse strap tightened for a moment on my shoulder and as I felt for the strap, it slipped effortlessly through my fingers and off of my shoulder.No, oh God, no!

I whipped around to see who took my purse but the crowd encircled me and moved like a viper's nest. The strap must have been cut. I began wading against the flow of people and received curses in another language and elbows from others. Panic gripped my heart. My money, my passport and the medication I needed to survive, all gone.

times up!

src

Prompt is today's freewrite word prompt. New 5 minute freewrite prompts are posted daily @mariannewest.

I hope you'll join our growing group of dedicated freewriters! Contests weekly, win SBI!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

And join us at the Isle of Write in the freewriter - retreat

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

The Make a Minnow project is an initiative designed to reward those who are exceptional in the minnowsupport community, the prize is a 5k delegation for one month!

Earn free cryptocurrency through mannabase join here and free Sweatcoin ... It pays for walking referrals earn free coin, too!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I bet this happens all the time. I hate thieves. 🔫

I'm here to shoot you today's prompt 🔫
MomentCam_20190116164449.gif
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-454-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-stem

I agree! I really wish people were honest and earned their own money. Thank you for the prompt prompt.

hi @wandrnrose7,

"...........to melt into that flow of people...."

I don't know whether you are melted or not, but am melted completely on seeing the free flow of your content.

".....it slipped effortlessly through my fingers and off of...."

How come are you able to write this content so effortlessly?

Hats off to your for writing this spectacular freewrite.

Way to make a writer feel amazing! Thank you for your kind words. I can only say a scene plays out in my head. ❤

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64512.68
ETH 2615.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82