The Inheritance - Day 54: 5 Minute Freewrite

in #freewrite7 years ago (edited)

It began with the incessant rain. The drip, drip, drip on the trailer roof. The drip became a thunderous pelting. Damn the hole in the roof. Where is a bucket? I scrambled to find a tin bucket or even a bowl. This tin can shack was all I had and the dismal lighting was making it hard to locate a container.

I finally found a pail. It was cob webby and ancient. I peered onto the deep pail and found a rather large package wrapped tight and secured with twine and a dark, dirty tarp. Suddenly, I forgot the roof leak and the rain beating Gramma's trailer. I ripped open the package. If nothing else, this would be amusing. Jobless and homeless before Gramma willed her old, damp, run-down trailer to me. At least I had a home of sorts.

I tried to tear open the heavy package. In exasperation, I found a dull knife in her kitchen drawer and sawed it open.

Inside, even in the dimness, heavy gold bars gleamed at me like promised children and I cradled them with surprise. The rain now poured onto the dilapidated floor and I smiled as I slid the empty pot under that musical stream.

This ends my Day 54: 5 Minute Freewrite hosted by @mariannewest join the fun here:
Day 54: 5 Minute Freewrite


s-l400.jpg
Image
pco56kbxi.png

The Make a Minnow project is an initiative designed to reward those who are exceptional in the minnowsupport community, the prize is a 5k delegation for a month!

logo.jpg

Logo by @KingLeo47

Sort:  

I guess Gramma forgot to "Kick the Bucket" on her way out to let everyone know where her treasure was? 🤔

Haha I guess so! Thanks for reading and commenting! <3

Very nice #freewrite post! I really enjoyed reading this.

Thank you very much for stopping by and commenting... I'm so glad that you enjoyed this! Following your blog now <3

as I slid the empty pot under that musical stream.

Loved the end!!! so happy!

Thank you @snook. I'm just having too much fun when I finally get to sit down and write one of these. I hope you and the hubby are well today.

That was a nice happy ending!!

Aww thanks! It's on of those days with the car at the shop! Gimme gold in a bucket, please! Haha
Thanks for being first to take a look and comment!

Great writing and a nice ending 👍

Thank you! These prompts surprise me everyday.. I never know where my brain is going to take these words! <3

lol my brain is often the same all over the place

Crazy fun, though!

That’s great :)

Nice ending!! With all the gruesome freewriters about - I was a bit worried what they might find

Thank you! Yes, there are some scary stories, but all well written. This little tale seemed to write itself.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59007.49
ETH 2658.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44