Take the Reins - Day 88:5 Minute Freewrite

in #freewrite7 years ago (edited)

Take the Reins

Stranded on the sofa like whales with a plankton's indigestion my husband and four children sat transfixed in front of the idiot box.

"Get up!" I demanded, like a drill sergeant. Five sets of rhuemy eyes returned blank stares.

I walked through bags of Skittles and empty popcorn bags littering the livingroom to the TV remote clutched in my spouse's grip and pried it loose. I pressed "off" and listened to silence for one split second followed by the gulping of air from my family. Fish out of water.

All eyes on me now and I said, "Get your shoes on. We are going outside."
Collective gasp.

All five stood up and rooted around for shoes.

Outside the sun was shining high in the sky. I led the way to the car. I drove and sounds of chattering began to fill the car. Wind blew in our faces and soon there was laughter.

Halfway to the park, I ditched the remote out my window. My spouse looked over and smiled.

We pulled into the park and I slowed to a stop.

Giggling children leaped from their seats and I hauled a picnic basket from the trunk I'd stuffed.

Placing hands on my hips I sighed with contentment.

Sometimes you have to take the reins.

vision-492266_1920.jpg
Image

This ends my Day 88:5 Minute Freewrite. Join us here and discover the fun!
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-88-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-see-below

The Make a Minnow project is an initiative designed to reward those who are exceptional in the minnowsupport community, the prize is a 5k delegation for a month!

rose7.png

Logo by @hochitrooper

Sort:  

You have a fantastic knack of getting an important message across in very few words. A great skill that, can't be taught.
Well done Janelle ❤️

Thank you for being such a wonderful support. Your words encourage me so much! ❤❤❤❤

loved this one, @wandrnrose7! Sometimes we do have to take the reins. Love the part about the remote! I would love to be able to do that some days.

Thanks dear! I spend next to no time in front of TV and always limited TV for my kids. The ex was a tv junkie, though. :p

I LOVED this!!!!!!!!! My Hubby is a TV addict and somedays I have so thought of doing just that!!! :D

Haha I understand completely! So much time spent sitting instead of living!*
Hugs! Thanks so much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63630.04
ETH 2656.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81