Silent Wars

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Silent Wars

Helpless to quell the tides of suffering, I stared in disbelief when loved ones were struck with disaster and suffering.

Words failed and my heart turned faint with weakness. I feebly lent support or prayers, but felt I cannot ever do enough.

Losing a loved one expectedly, by chance, my heart pounds out a deafening tattoo as I grasp for logic and try to remain sane.

When did life prepare me for these catastrophic losses or unexplained pain? Will I ever recover my footing and heal from the pain?

There is no rule book, or right method in coping with a weakening blow. Time removes the rough edges, and I change with the blow and accept or refuse, I live on and pick up at the point of helpless despair.

The fortunate seek comfort from others who paved a path before.

No suffering is new to the planet earth. Everyone is fragile, regardless of imagined strength.

We pass the baton on when we regain equilibrium. Survivors become warriors of often unsung battles.

None are exempt, humanity is our flag and Achilles heel.

No one gets a pass on one manner of suffering or another, but we are never truly without help. We are victims of silent wars.

The battle rages unquenched in many. I have learned to be kind and patient with those who I meet and pass on words of hope into their hungry ears. Many may be suffering with thoughts of helplessness.....I know, again, I may one day need the same.


This is my 5 minute freewrite.
Here is the link for today:
helpless

I hope you'll join in with a growing group of lively freewriters!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

And join us at the Isle of Write in the freewriter - retreat

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

The Make a Minnow project is an initiative designed to reward those who are exceptional in the minnowsupport community, the prize is a 5k delegation for one month!

U5dsySA1DicJEJ2Q3oS7GZLA5xqK9Fe.gif

Earn free cryptocurrency through mannabase
join here and free Check out this app ... It pays for walking *referrals earn free coin, too!

Sort:  
Loading...

your words are sound and reverberate live-feelings
while curing the hearts, quell any negative thoughts
p.w

Thank you so much!

This is so true, @wandrnrose7 and so sad. Really touching.

Thank you, @honeydue. Have a wonderful day.

This is so unbelievably perfect! It made my day to read something so raw and relatable. You have also managed to capture a struggle that we all face...in one way or another with the same kind of fragile hope that ties us all together... <3

Thank you very much. It makes me happy to hear my struggles are relatable. <3 hugs

Great poem,
I am always learning from you!
I got two new words today: quell and feebly
b.b.

great read. do more @wandernrose!

Thank you, I will work at it!

A beautiful manifesto to acknowledge the inevitable with soothing in the present. Thank you for the inspiration.
Perhaps today's prompt will inspire something dreamy.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-292-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-overslept

Thank you for the kind words of encouragement and the prompt delivery.

humanity is our flag and Achilles heel.

So true!!!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by wandrnrose7 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59702.71
ETH 2542.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54