Reunion - Five Minute Freewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Reunion

She stood by the bus stop in the cold Northwinds. Trees were blowing and shaking what was left of their leaves as though they were waving to Summers long past.

Her jacket was pulled up tight to her neck and still, she shivered. What would he think of her, after so many years? Did he miss her like she had missed him daily and nightly for so long? She licked her dry lips. They weren't dry because of the cold or the wind, but because she was nervous, fearful that she wouldn't look the same to him or that he would look at her with disinterest. At one time she loved him madly. She had even thought that he felt the same about her. But one day he told her, apologetically, that he was leaving. He had accepted a job in California and no matter what plans they had talked about, all of the sudden everything changed and he was leaving. Just like that.

They grew apart and seldom spoke over the phone. At first they would email often and take time regularly at least once a week to talk. But those conversations slowly dwindled until it was once a month, once every 3 months and then, once a year, if that.

He met a girl in California and called her, again apologetically, to let her know that he fell in love and was getting married. She felt her heart break in a million pieces but did not cry. She wasn't going to give him the satisfaction because something in her knew that when he left her this would happen.

Out of the blue he messaged her on social media three months ago and told her that he gotten a divorce and was coming back to New York. He asked her if she would like to see him again, apologizing for the past and almost expecting her to say no. Against her best judgment, she said yes, she wouldn't mind at all.

The bus was due to arrive any minute. She watched the road eagerly and licked her lips. The bus just turned at the bend and started heading towards her. All she could think of was all the empty years in between.

The bus slowly pulled up to the bus stop and the doors opened wide. People begin filtering out. The elderly and the handicapped first and towards the end when she almost felt that maybe he had chickened out and not come, out stepped the face that was once one of the most dear faces on Earth to her. He looked at her and recognized her immediately and walked directly to her. He stopped awkwardly for a long moment, then opened his arms, tentatively, and cocked his head with a smile.

"I'm so sorry I ever left, Angie."

She walked right in to those arms and lay her head on his shoulder. He enfolded her tightly and she felt him shaking as he stroked her windblown hair and planted a kiss on her head. "

I know I don't deserve this... but I'm asking for one more chance," he whispered in her ear.


This is today's five minute freewrite.
Here is the link for today.
In all fairness, this did take longer than 5 minutes.
dry lips

I hope you'll join in with a growing group of lively freewriters!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

And join us at the Isle of Write in the freewriter - retreat

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

The Make a Minnow project is an initiative designed to reward those who are exceptional in the minnowsupport community, the prize is a 5k delegation for one month!

U5dsySA1DicJEJ2Q3oS7GZLA5xqK9Fe.gif

Earn free cryptocurrency through mannabase
join here and free Sweatcoin ... It pays for walking referrals earn free coin, too!

Sort:  

@wandrnrose7 aww, Angie... hopefully he treasures her this time if she does give him that chance. 🙂

I think it will go differently this time. Thank you so much!

Posted using Partiko Android

"He stroke her windblown hair." That was my favorite part. Reminds me of John Smith kissing Pocahontas in all the colors of the wind. Upvoted.

Thank you! I really appreciate your support and comment!

Posted using Partiko Android

Trees were blowing and shaking what was left of their leaves as though they were waving to Summers long past. - Love it! Perfect opener to a perfect story. I love a happy ending! This is complete as is, this, from an English major who used to dislike short stories and prefer novels. Now I grow impatient with novels for supplying too much detail and backstory, the things I used to find wanting in a short story. This is poetic - thanks for making my day with the happy ending, never mind all those sad years of waiting for this moment. :)

I cannot thank you enough for your words of encouragement and praise. I always wanted to have an English major, personally, but life had other plans for me. Writing has always been my passion, and years ago I struggled so much to try to get a story that makes sense beginning middle and end but I used to go on these crazy rabbit trails! To hear this from you is such a huge honor and surprise. I took a screenshot of this comment for a reminder occasionally that I am doing something right in my writing! I'm so happy right now you have no idea. Hugs!

You are a natural storyteller - no question about it!
We ALL need some proofreading and editing. No question about that either. Joyce Carol Oates, prolific as she is, best-selling author that she is, could use more editing, but nobody dares, because she's famous. Stephen King's latest, co-authored with his son, was in dire need of editing. So, we ALL need another eye on our prose. And your writing doesn't need any major renovations (some of these novice writers, and especially those brave non-native-English writers, need more help than I can give - and I used to do this, unpaid, but I had to stop).
That said, for some authors, I continue to edit and proofread unpaid... so keep me in mind! A lot of writers have a group of beta readers, and some of these readers are fellow writers, and they swap with each other.
Beta readers don't necessarily edit or proofread, but they're great for letting you know if your writing held their attention and made them want more. You writing does that! Never lose faith in yourself!

That is wonderful that you lend time like this to budding writers! I will keep you in my thoughts and thank you for offering so generously. I would never presume, but just knowing your in my corner made my day that much brighter and encouraged me. ❤❤❤

Posted using Partiko Android

Anyone can visit the spreadsheets at @isleofwrite or @thewritersblock and ask for help with their fiction. I don't know who's volunteering there these days. I had to quit; it was a full-time job, unpaid, just critiquing all these stories, and a when a sudden avalanche from novice writers started coming in last fall at the block, and my own writing was totally on the back burner, I had to rethink the Pay it Forward thing, because I was running on empty. But you can hit me up! Don't hesitate! You have a knack for storytelling, while too many of the writers I tried to help last year seemed to have no real aptitude. The ones who are quick learners took off and flourished, and that's the biggest reward ever - seeing someone's story get polished to the point it wins contests. You'll be there soon!

I knew about the spreadsheets at the writer's block... I did not know about them at @isleofwrite. I can't even imagine the time that would take! Im following you here and since you have a Discord, is it the same as this one? Thank you once more! ❤🤗

At Discord, I'm at @isleofwrite, and a gazillion channels I rarely visit, and need to pare down. Thanks for the follow-back! I don't know if I'll go back to spead-sheeting, but you can send me links to google dox, if you use google, and check the "editing allowed" box (as I recall, anyway). My gmail address is easy to remember: 2germanic at gmail. Keep me posted!

Will do! Thanks for the contact! I seldom get on chat. Work & migraine keep me at a bare minimum. Saved your details.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by wandrnrose7 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60063.85
ETH 2313.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46