Ready, Set, Fly - Five Minute Freewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago

Ready, Set, Fly - Five Minute Freewrite

I feel the familiar rush now, every time we taxi down the runway preparing for take off. The adrenaline rush floods my senses as I close the cockpit door and the plane picks up speed. Nose up as we head into the air and slowly everything below shrinks into miniature from higher and higher elevations. The air in the cockpit is as hot and humid as the air below and grows hotter before it cools.

The plane climbs higher and higher before Jeff reaches our cruising altitude. At 8,500 feet the air finally cools and we are aloft above the cloud tables. I don't tire of the many unique cloud formations and stare in quiet awe. Cotton candy streams or pillowtop softness I peek down to the topography of the land whizzing by below. Ribbon roads and miniature houses, even factories with tall stacks pointing upwards from cities like Cleveland are dwarfed at this elevation.

I want to stay up here, in the silence,our private place, as the propeller whirs faster than eyes can see, but not faster than a photo captured with my phone.


A big factory near Sandusky, Ohio

Many a shot I would capture out front of the plane, but experience reveals the propellers frozen in time.


cars being ferried to Put-in-Bay, Ohio.

Each flight ends in landing,often in places I've never stepped foot before.


Put-in-Bay, Ohio

Some places have grown familiar and the ease at returning still amazes me.

Saturday we return to Canada. This is Jeff and my election for Labor Day weekend after discussion. I feel the familiar excitement rising as weekend nears. We will visit my best friend once more.

I'll never tire of the pleasure and exhilaration of taking off or landing. I guess I'm hooked!

This is my 5 minute freewrite.
Here is the link for today.
election

I hope you'll join in with a growing group of lively freewriters!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

And join us at the Isle of Write in the freewriter - retreat

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

The Make a Minnow project is an initiative designed to reward those who are exceptional in the minnowsupport community, the prize is a 5k delegation for one month!

U5dsySA1DicJEJ2Q3oS7GZLA5xqK9Fe.gif

Earn free cryptocurrency through mannabase
join here and free Sweatcoin ... It pays for walking referrals earn free coin, too!

Sort:  

I have never flown my entire life and I have always had a fear of heights but you have made it sound so much fun that I am tempted to try it. I love the photos but that clouds shot is lit!

I'm glad you enjoyed it... And many people fear, but if you can put aside your fear for just a minute and go up and see the things I see, I think you will agree that it's an experience worth trying! Thank you for commenting, dear.

Posted using Partiko Android

One day soon :)

I haven't flown for several years, and only twice have I ever flown in a small plane. It was simultaneously fun and scary!

I don't know why but it doesn't frighten me. Thanks for reading!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 55290.41
ETH 2357.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32