You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Pheri Waali, 5 minutes freewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

This was very interesting for me. Just to understand the cultural differences the value of things. When we go to garage sales, often it's clothes that are the last items the people look at. A garage sale here is valuable if it has appliances or tables or chairs or electric things. Sometimes people do sell high value items that you cannot buy for such cheap prices. The richer areas will have a lot of cool items, some of them very gently used. Other places charge ridiculous amounts of cash for their junk. I'm not one to attend very many garage sales because I have limited space and I have found that the majority of these kind of things at garage sales just end up cluttering up my place and when it's time to move, I just have to eliminate them. Nice to meet you and welcome to the Freewriters!

Sort:  

Thank you for the welcome. And its a pleasure to get to know so many eonderful people on this site.

Yes, its fascinating to read about different culture. Things are so different in my country. You know my family would be mortified if I told them that I wanted to arrange a garage sale here. It will be a great loss of face here. And god forbid if a well to do family were to have a garage sale. It would be considered scandalous to do something like that instead of giving away things to the poor.

We have this particular type of brokers here who old buys stuff and resell them elsewhere. These days with the rise of internet sites like ebay and olx are used to sell old stuff. Most of the things are either given away to poor relatives or just thrown away.

I know what you mean. I give away much of what I don't use, not that I am in any way wealthy. Have a good day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 59965.71
ETH 3286.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36