You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Day 263: 5 Minute Freewrite: Monday - Prompt: grapevine

in #freewrite6 years ago

Not a Grapevine

My dear freewrite family, it wasn't a grapevine I weeded July 4th, oh no, luck would not have it.

Frantically preparing for my sister's visit Friday through Sunday, last Wednesday, on a whim, I decided to weed some creepers climbing the front of my apartment, they were getting out of hand and stuck out after the neighbor kindly weed whipped that area.

It took twenty minutes in ninety degree heat to pull those stuck vines.

How was I to know I just handled poison oak? I'd never seen it before, and now can't wait to be free of this exhausting itch and welts peppering my arms and legs. Seriously, never pull a vine you don't know. It's so not worth it.

Saturday I called Doctor on Demand and the kind lady called in a prednisone dose pack. The itching continues and I dealt with it all through my sister's visit a Saturday Brunch and a Sunday wedding.

If that's not enough, Jeff has also contracted symptoms
He's highly allergic and never touched it. He said it's from walking by the vine pile by my door. Ugh. He's getting meds tomorrow but symptoms began for him yesterday on his arm. Today, he has blisters and sores on his legs. Healing can take weeks. Im using Zertac, Lidocaine, an ivy scrub and Ivy dry.

I will hopefully return full time once the prednisone helps me heal.

Be well, my friends.
PSX_20180709_214241.jpg
Definitely not from grapevines

Sort:  

I hope you feel better soon Janelle! Poison oak used to get me bad when I lived in Cali. Until I learned the trick of swallowing a few baby leaves in early spring... I never got it after that ;)

Thank you for your empathy. It's a terrible thing. I would be afraid that it would affect my internals! This it is beyond beyond.

@wandrnrose7, I hope the medicines will take effect quickly and you and Jeff get well very soon! I'm very sad you have to suffer like that. Good vibes, you're in my thoughts!

I drop here the next prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-264-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-food-to-the-table
Who knows? Maybe writing can help to distract from itching and pain...

Thank you, my dear friend. I don't think the meds are working well, I keep breaking out. Jeff isn't near as bad as me yet, but I was the one who had direct contact. I have to keep going to work on little sleep. I appreciate your positive vibes. They are truly appreciated.

Ouch, that must hurt! Feel better soon, Janelle! <3

It itches so much :( thank you, @honeydue.

Oh my. That is dreadful! I hope it heals up quickly for both of you!

Thank you very much! I'm on my 6th day and they say it could be weeks. I'm doing everything they tell you to do so all I can do is grin and bear... Much love.

Oh NOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!! and Jeff got it too! That stuff is so bad. I am so sorry!! You were looking so much forward to your sister's visit!!
Hope someone can eradicate those for you - that is a bad place for that kind of plant. Just make sure that they don't burn it.... that makes it worse.

At first when his rash started he thought he was allergic to his niacin that he has to take but as it developed he realized he had gotten a contact allergic reaction. All he literally had to do was walk by the pile that I had disposed of by the door. Yes words cannot express the frustration that this was going on during my visit with her. She was very sweet, but the last thing I wanted her to do was to worry about me or have to help me take care of some awful welts. On a good note, we did get to see all the family and have some together time and Jeff even took everyone up on the plane on Saturday. Yes, I did some research on it as soon as I can tracked it it and saw that you should never burn it. The problem is it is still leasing the whole back of my house and it's creeping over more on to the front. It's going to have to be destroyed somehow. Argh!! Hugs.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 65337.35
ETH 2583.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67