Old Spice and Pouch Tobacco

in #freewrite5 years ago

Old Spice cologne and pouch tobacco. That was my Father. Scents, like music, bring good memories and those two scents are the first that come to mind when I think of Pa. That's my nickname for Dad since I can remember. I recall Dad sitting in his chair with a yellow pouch of loose tobacco packing his round wood bowl pipe with the curved black mouthpiece when I was young. The smell of the pouch wafting up always made me feel safe. I went so far as to take the old pouches with remnants of tobacco and put them in my clothes drawer so that my T shirts would absorb the scent.

Dad gave the pipe up in 1997 after a quadruple bypass in his mid 50s. He's surprisingly healthy nowadays. I'm happy that he gave up smoking, but the scent lingers still in my thoughts as part of my growing up in the 70s.

SRC

Here is today's freewrite. The prompt is cologne
Find new daily prompts and join in with @freewritehouse for opportunities to win Steem Basic Income weekly!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Fabulous memories @wandrnrose7 💕

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for your support @msp-creativebot!

Posted using Partiko Android

Glad you Pa gave up the pipe and is doing wel
Wonderful free write

Thanks for this great post and being an active member of @steemusa !tip

Thank you! I am glad he did, too. ❤ a healthy heart is so important! You warmed my heart with another tip, so thank you!

Posted using Partiko Android

Most welcome 😎👍😎

That sounds like such a nice memory. :) I'm glad your father is still doing well!


Hello! I'm here to deliver Day 557's prompt! Today's magical word is -- museum ~ come join us once again for a five-minute #freewrite!

Me too @kaelci! Thanks for the delivery!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

🎁 Hi @wandrnrose7! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

@tattoodjay wrote lately about: Monochrome Monday An Old Lamp And Bending The Rules Feel free to follow @tattoodjay if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58004.44
ETH 2579.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40