My First Yard Sale - Day 109:5 Minute Freewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago

My First Yard Sale

This was it! Today was the big day. I pulled the fold-out table and a couple of lawn chairs up to the front lawn in front of the trailer next to my grandparents that I shared with my brother, sister, and parents.

Since I could remember, I collected comic books. I don't know what I was thinking that day, but I decided to liquidate my collection. The sun was beating down hot on me, I also had a lemonade stand, I figured I would double dip with this ordeal. The lemonaide went fast in the hot sun. The Dixie Cups my mom brought out were quickly exhausted and left the warming lemonade sitting in the hot sun.

I spend so much time reading each one of these comic books. Back then, comic books were cheap, a dime a dozen, almost. My collection included titles like Casper the Friendly Ghost, the Archies, and one of my favorites Spider-Man.

The neighbor kids flocked around my yard sale table like vultures, drank my lemonade and threw their nickels into the cup. Slowly, my huge stack of comic books dwindled down to one or two. I shook my cup with around $5 in it and thought that I was rich as the afternoon waned.

Once and a while, I think about that collection of comic books that nowadays might net me a small fortune and I laugh at how little we value some things not realizing that in the future they may really be worth a lot!

spiderman-1043735_1920.jpg
Image

This ends my daily freewrite hosted by @mariannewest.

I hope you'll join in with a growing group of lively writers. Here is today's prompt Yard Sale :
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-109-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-yard-sale

Discord
Freewriters now have our own room in the Isle of Write Discord!
Here is the link to join: https://discord.gg/zfXNRnK

The Make a Minnow project is an initiative designed to reward those who are exceptional in the minnowsupport community, the prize is a 5k delegation for a month!

rose7.png

Logo by @hoschitrooper

wandrnrose7_blue-1.png

Sort:  

Never sell your comics! 😱😁 The same thing happened with my magic the gathering cards.. but that time I was so broken I had to sell them for financing my airplane trips.. I hope the same will happen with our steem and they will eventually increase their value.. we'll see

Hopefully the neighborhood kids appreciated reading all the comics though!

I can imagine lots of things from our childhood would have been worth some money in the future. I only wish we would have thought about it back then. Thanks for sharing.

I remember when I was a kid, my grandpa has a lot of those comic books. Kinda sad they're all gone. I should've kept one myself :D

Comics are always something to treasure for someone. Any kid would read it and mark their life for good, as it probably happened to you when you were young.

Nice story!

Reading comics is a fun thing, hopefully your day is getting colorful

Ha! So true :) love your freewrite

That is true. But if everyone would have held on to them - they wouldn't be worth anything today :)
It is impossible to figure out what will be valuable and what will not... We would have warehouses of stuff 🙄

Yes, and we do have to prioritize what we keep on our stores LOL!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64928.52
ETH 3525.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36