Life's Simple Pleasures - Five Minute Freewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago

Life's Simple Pleasures

20180815_211119.jpg

Little things make me happy. Take this hair towel, for example. The brand is Aquis. I picked it up at the local Bed Bath & Beyond at my sister's encouragement.

I've had this towel at least for 10 to 15 years. It is a microfiber towel of the most exquisite texture and the perfect shape for hair drying. I love this towel so much that I'm always careful to make sure it is placed in the same place and it gets regular washing.

Sometimes we're silly about favorite things and I would have to say that I am silly about this towel.

My hair is never really long, but the towel perfectly absorbs and gets my hair ready for styling or air drying.

This is me post-shower and I am exhausted sitting on a gel ice pack.

Today was my third session of physical therapy. It was a particularly hard session. The therapist is dealing with my new diagnosis, Femoral Acetabular Impingement FAI http://blog.zamst.us/femoral-acetabular-impingement-fai/
This is a hip bone deformity in my right hip, an overgrowth of bone which impedes movement of the ball of the femur. This is the culprit causing the excruciating sciatica pain as my muscles try to compensate for the last 18 years triggered by my pedestrian/car accident 4/09/00.

Although is awesome to finally have a definition for my pain, this new phase of physical therapy is beating the crap out of me. The last two days I've been exhausted and sitting on ice when I have an opportunity and even working on an ice pack. Sitting is excruciating and I sit for 10 hours a day between the two hour commute and the phone job, except for two 15-minute breaks and a 45 minute lunch where at some point I also have to eat.

I see some new bruises on my leg where she was working especially hard to try to release the muscle in my groin which is tightening that hip. The little pleasure of taking a hot shower and throwing my hair up in my favorite towel is comforting. No pain, no gain. The mantra is rolling around in my brain because the promise is pain free walking and sitting at the end of this 6 weeks.

In the meantime, there is some fun with a therapist and other clients undergoing their own pain. It causes lot of pain as she works on my muscles manually and does some manual traction and utilizes the graston technique, then exercises to strengthen her adjustments.

I'm not going to throw in the towel, but I certainly wish I could curl up and fall asleep in the middle of the day when the muscles start to ache from the new physical therapy. One day at a time.

Thank you for reading.

This is my 5 minute freewrite.
Here is the link for today.
towel

I hope you'll join in with a growing group of lively freewriters!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

And join us at the Isle of Write in the freewriter - retreat

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

The Make a Minnow project is an initiative designed to reward those who are exceptional in the minnowsupport community, the prize is a 5k delegation for one month!

U5dsySA1DicJEJ2Q3oS7GZLA5xqK9Fe.gif

Earn free cryptocurrency through mannabase
join here and free Check out this app ... It pays for walking *referrals earn free coin, too!

Sort:  

Oh, realigning can be so painful. I wonder if rubbing essential oils on and maybe even acupuncture could help the process...

What oils perhaps? Acupuncture is not covered under my insurance and I have been supporting the PA health care providers with yachts this summer lol.

Lavender is always a good all around oil. Also, peppermint is often used. You have to make sure that it is actually a high-quality oil and not mixed with crap and you can use very little - mix it with a carrier oil like coconut or almond oil.
I used to be a Young Living distributor and still like their oils - just not the company. They are pricey. Let me ask around what other companies are good and test their oils and make sure that they are pure.

too bad that you don't have an acupuncture school around - I totally get the point of buying a yacht for the Dr. - more the administrators.

I am definitely willing to try the essential oils. It can't hurt! Thank you.

No, don't "throw out the towel!" You're going to need that later for drying your hair. '-)

Here is today's freewrite prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-301-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-flea-market

Hugs! Thank you for stopping and for the prompt delivery.

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

God bless you dear. My prayers, always

Thank you, and prayers for you all.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67900.86
ETH 3250.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63