Happy Birthday Freewriters!

in #freewrite6 years ago

Happy Birthday Freewriters!

Am I late pant pant? Let me set down my bag of life in the corner and look around the room. I'll take that seat in the back of the room after I snag me a cupcake.

Snapchat-127016307.jpg

One year? Wow! I've watched the idea of daily freewrites borne of our fearless leader @mariannewest grow into something 'UGE!

Marianne was just new to Steemit and had the brilliant idea of giving us a daily prompt to promote daily writing without that infernal internal editor. It wasn't the first time I'd heard of it, but darn if she didn't know what she was doing!

The one thing she did differently than any other writing groups on Steemit I had previously encountered was she brought a daily link with the new prompt to your freewrite, commented and upvoted your #freewrite. That got my attention! Because she was a new account she didn't have much steem power, but that came with delegations later.

I was hooked! I believed in this idea and respect @mariannewest tremendously for her constant creativity and encouragement to all who she encounters and her vision of uplifting newbies and veterans alike. The philosophy is simple: write-just write fast and shut off distractions and that internal editor.

It works!

bitmoji-20181021125037.png

Before I started freewriting I wrote mostly poetry. It's what comes naturally to me and as my emotional valve. I tried fiction before but I found fiction intimidating and believed it to be crap, although I read voraciously all through life and wrote poems, songs and essays with feeble attempts at fiction.

Through this community I have written fiction (and one story just received a @curie upvote this week!). I participated in a 50 day selfie freewrite challenge which I never thought I'd finish since I had so many physical problems this year, but I did it (with @wonderwop help!). Winners received a split payout from generous donations!

bitmoji-20181021125009.png

Where are we now? We have @freewritehouse which sponsors regular contests, volunteers drop freewrite prompts every day. We have weekly contests to win upvotes and Steem basic income shares. We have we-writes and freewrite curations. I compile a weekly selection of #freewritepoetry poems and share the Freewrite Poetry Digest each Sunday. Our freewriters are from all over the world and we even have a Spanish freewriter group headed by @latino.romano.

bitmoji-20181021125020.png
A little idea with a lot of love can make a big impact and I take a moment today, we take a moment, to celebrate one of the kindest group of people worldwide I have ever met on a social networking platfom
I love you all!

Come, share some cake with us here!

Party!

I hope you'll join in with a growing group of lively freewriters!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

And join us at the Isle of Write in the freewriter - retreat

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

The Make a Minnow project is an initiative designed to reward those who are exceptional in the minnowsupport community, the prize is a 5k delegation for one month!

U5dsySA1DicJEJ2Q3oS7GZLA5xqK9Fe.gif

Earn free cryptocurrency through mannabase
join here and free Sweatcoin ... It pays for walking referrals earn free coin, too!

Sort:  

Beautiful, just as you are, I was more than happy to help out during the selfie contest, it was soooooooo much fun and I didn't want you to go anywhere. 💕

Hugs! I always remember a kindness and yes, it was one of the most fun things and the hardest LOL

FIRST!!!

So great to see you still at it, @wandrnrose7!

😎 😍 😘

all the Love and Respect,
~Undy

Much love, my dear. I'll never forget all of your support and kindness. I need to wait to vote because I'm below .03 but I'll be back!

What a cute picture of you!!! It took me right back to the 200-day celebration. Wow, now we are on day 367 (almost lol). We have come a long way and your support has been invaluable!!

Thank you so much!!!

🤗 much love and thank you. More migraines keeping me quiet this week. 😵

Posted using Partiko Android

Cake and ice cream? Too bad you can't push them through usb port.
Big congrats!

thanks for stooping by, @joe.nobel

Posted using Partiko Android

I found #freewriters after I joined Steemit. I had just been burned by the great cryptrush of 2017 and I decided I needed to do something besides worry about the price of XRP. Anyway, I also had made a vow to write every day and the #freewrite prompt was just perfect. I tried giving myself prompts, but that didn't work out and so when I stumbled upon the post by @mariannewest I was hooked.

I have written quite a bit of the prompts, with a small break to do some of my writing needed for our annual report, and turned to writing mini-mysteries. I'm really enjoying writing again and I have this great community of writers at @freewritehouse to thank for their encouragement and support.

I didn't realize it was a party! Happy Birthday to the #freewrite prompt and congratulations to @mariannewest and everyone else.

you're an awesome writer and I love that you are a part of freewriting!

Posted using Partiko Android

A little idea with a lot of love can make a big impact - as your post demonstrates, @wandrnrose7 - you say so well what I was trying to say, but I fell flat. I love your opening lines and your breezy style. Even "just" a nonfiction essay, your voice comes through. Glad you're here!!

your support and kindness have brightened my posts. I sure love when you share your thoughts! I am so happy you are here, too!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Indeed Freewrite is an AWESOME idea! And a great way to meet new friends... Totally feel you when you said you thought you may not finish the 50 days selfie freewrite... I had this fear too back then... But then we all made it through!

Happy Birthday, Freewrite!!! Freewrite is ONE YEAR OLD!!!

Thank you for freewriting with us! I know am super late to deliver prompt but just in case you miss it. Here's the prompt:- Day 366: 5 Minute Freewrite: Sunday - Prompt: trapped.

Thanks again! With love and hugs.

MomentCam_20180924103629.gif

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for commenting and delivering 🤗❤

Happy birthday

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63410.49
ETH 3058.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99