Grandmother

in #freewrite6 years ago

Her face was beautiful, her eyes still danced, despite the stroke they still smiled. Her mouth turned down slightly on the right so when she smiled only the left side muscles obeyed the brain's signal.

Her voice cracked with age when she called my name and spoke about her husband, my Grandfather, like he was still here, and she was in her kitchen, not a skilled nursing home. I loved her so. Every week I went to visit her in between Sunday services and played games or read to Gramma and her roommate.

The lines on her face were maps that grew in my childhood and our family history lived in this strong, frail woman. Her hands felt like crepe when I held them, bending to kiss her creased cheek before leaving for the week. Priceless, the hours I spent as an adult alone with this woman, Vera, until she was no longer there.


This is the five minute freewrite prompt: history

I hope you'll join in with a growing group of lively freewriters!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

And join us at the Isle of Write in the freewriter - retreat

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

The Make a Minnow project is an initiative designed to reward those who are exceptional in the minnowsupport community, the prize is a 5k delegation for one month!

U5dsySA1DicJEJ2Q3oS7GZLA5xqK9Fe.gif

Earn free cryptocurrency through mannabase
join here and free Sweatcoin ... It pays for walking referrals earn free coin, too!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I could feel the love, very nice. It's so easy in this busy world to not make time for our elders. Your story reminds us that they are indeed our history and you will get as much as you give when your time to them.

Thank you for your kind comment. I received far more than I invested. ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 24 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 2 SBD worth and should receive 140 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60023.73
ETH 3191.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45