Final Battle

in #freewrite5 years ago (edited)

The horn blew and the Captain's voice cut through the melee, the screams and the whine of war. "The war has ended!"
Blood bespeckled soldiers stood up in trenches, faces momentarily inscrutable, broke out in laughter, almost insane laughter. They stood frozen, feet entrenched in cold mud. Then, as if one synchronized beast their arms with weapons attached to tight fists raised high above each head and a Whoop drifted up as joy furrowed through the tall and bowed men, some holding another up gentle as babes.

The Sergeant yelled, "Lay down your weapons, men. Show me the way home," as some of the ranks lay still on the grass, arms missing or blood coagulating near their final bed.

SRC

Here is today's freewrite. The prompt show me the way home
Find new daily prompts and join in with @freewritehouse for opportunities to win Steem Basic Income weekly!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I was as happy as the men were that the war had ended but sadly not soon enough for some. I think this is the first time I have read a freewrite where I was elated and sorrowful all at once. Well done!

Thank you. This was high praise for me! To know I stirred those deep emotions shows I was able to evoke these turmoil experienced. I appreciate the feedback.

Posted using Partiko Android

@wandrnrose7 💙

Let's Keep On ! 💙 ♬♬
#steem ♨ On ! to the 💙 Universe !
#seven77

Posted using Partiko Android

Most welcome ! :) @wandrnrose7 💙
Have a Good Day !

Posted using Partiko Android

곰돌이가 @bluengel님의 소중한 댓글에 시세변동을 감안하여 $0.002을 보팅해서 $0.021을 지켜드리고 가요. 곰돌이가 지금까지 총 5307번 $59.218을 보팅해서 $67.526을 구했습니다. @gomdory 곰도뤼~

고마운 곰도뤼~💙

Posted using Partiko Android

Love the photo, the men, triumph, the end of the war, and the final line!

The images came so readily. I've read a lot of historical fiction written during numerous wars. I can't even imagine those final moments in each heart, though. @carolkean

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58728.31
ETH 3185.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43