Do The Hustle

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

I grew up a driven girl who transitioned to a driven woman. My parents expected excellence at home both in studies and domestic chores. They conditioned me to repeat tasks at home and do them right, or repeat them until they were perfect or close to that. I admit I rebelled back then, but only inwardly, but I complied and soon doing all chores correctly was preferable to the consequences of repeating one. Those lessons applied to grades and A's were expected on my report cards. I was compelled to excel. Most classes I managed that, too. I stressed a lot over grades and going to college after age 38 I had hoped to have outgrown that instinct, but failed miserably. I left with a Suma Cum Laud degree in Speech Communications attending eleven years 1/2 time and working full time while single mothering two teen aged boys. I learned the true meaning of hustle better than many. Was it worth it? In some respects. I learned the value of letting some things go while forging on despite obstacles. Sometimes you just have to push beyond the breaking point to reach that finish line.

This is my Five Minute Freewrite for
Hustle

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I can relate. Much was expected of me while I was growing up, too. Academic achievement became a habit. I sometimes wonder what it would be like to go back to school now, at age 62. I think I'd rather not find out!

Thanks @scribblinggramma I can only tell you that what you learn when you're young is typically how you respond when you're old. We can change are ingrained Behavior with repetitious correction, but when the chips are down Instinct often takes over especially when we are tired and we are stressed. I've often refer to myself as the salmon swimming Upstream when it comes to trying to correct the things that I have you in my life need to be changed

Posted using Partiko Android

Waoh, if you're writing this in glaring reality, am touched by it.

Well, am here with the weekends freewrite prompt delivery.

If you wanna go single,
I'll drop you this to mingle.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-1-4-2019-single-prompt-option
...
...
If you wanna go pro
Pls, line up on this roll
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-2-22-2019-part-1-the-first-sentence
...
...
Do have a beautiful and nice weekend.

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

It sounds like that prompt word really resonated with you!

I guess it did... It certainly was a quick freewrite! Thank you for reading and commenting! Have a great weekend.

Posted using Partiko Android

I learned the value of letting some things go while forging on despite obstacles. - having children is a great way to learn to let stuff go! I would never invite anyone over again if I waited until the entire house was clean, so I'd tidy up a few rooms and not worry about the rest. You attended college as a single mom of two - you go!!

Thank you @carolkean. I still am amazed this happened despite the migraines and sciatic post pedestrian accident of April 2000.

Posted using Partiko Android

Again I say: TOO MANY authors suffer migraines, lupus, fibromyalgia, etc, etc, painful medical conditions with chronic on-going symptoms. (I have headaches, brain fog, assorted aches and pains, diagnosed fibro and osteoarthritis.) Avoid inflammatory foods would be a great help if I managed to avoid them. I hope you feel better soon. Maybe when @crescendoofpeace publishes her nonfiction on self-healing and natural remedies, we'll have a coalition of authors who feel so good they don't have time to write anymore. :)

Congratulations @wandrnrose7! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 6000 replies. Your next target is to reach 6250 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thank you so much.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62025.78
ETH 2417.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49