Day Two - Hip Orthoscopy Surgery - Ulog 6

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Day Two - Hip Orthoscopy Surgery

My bandages were removed this morning and Dr. Jay showed me all of the images of what he and his colleague, Dr. Christine, did during my hip surgery yesterday.

Following my appointment with Dr. Jay I met with the in-house physical therapist and I was shown easy, basic early exercises to begin to prevent muscle atrophy.

It ends up that he did CAM shaving and labrum repair.

Cam. In cam impingement the femoral head is not round and cannot rotate smoothly inside the acetabulum. A bump forms on the edge of the femoral head that grinds the cartilage inside the acetabulum.
Pincer. This type of impingement occurs because extra bone extends out over the normal rim of the acetabulum. The labrum can be crushed under the prominent rim of the acetabulum
I had both issues so mine was:
Combined. Combined impingement just means that both the pincer and cam types are present.

When the hip brace was loosened this morning around my rib cage, the nausea lifted. Nurses told us in post-op not to move or loosen the brace until I got to the doctor's office today, apparently, they were wrong and I spent a long-time uncomfortable for that mistake.


tic tac toe

Dr. Jay said everything looks good and my hip joint is as healthy as a 39 year old's. I'll take it!

PT starts next Thursday and the pain is under control with the CPM ( continuous positive movement)machine, plus, today so far I only took 1/2 of the dose of the pain med prescribed and rather than my hip being the reason, it is because of my back pain. I'm not doing very well laying on my back all day and night due to slight scoliosis in the spine.


Continuous positive movement device

I know when I get up and move around to go to the bathroom etcetera my back feels better. I'm almost immediately really tired because it is such a process just to get up and out of bed, unhook the CPM, come back to my room and hook myself back up to the machine once again when I return to bed.

The photo looks like little spiders on my leg. Notice Dr. Jay's John Hamilton on the right hip?

This is today's five minute freewrite ( in all fairness, it has exceeded 5 minutes by, perhaps, 40 minutes)
I know

I hope you'll join in with a growing group dedicated freewriters!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

And join us at the Isle of Write in the freewriter - retreat

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

The Make a Minnow project is an initiative designed to reward those who are exceptional in the minnowsupport community, the prize is a 5k delegation for one month!

Earn free cryptocurrency through mannabase
join here and free Sweatcoin ... It pays for walking referrals earn free coin, too!

Sort:  

I am wishing you a speedy recovery and I hope that this surgery will relieve the pain you had prior to surgery. You are in my thoughts and prayers Janelle! Hugs!

Thank you, @whatisnew, I appreciate that and I hope so! Jeff and I have plans!

Plans? How exciting! That will give you more incentive to recuperate faster. : )

Yes! more travel once the new year rolls in. A good reason I elected for this surgery is so I will remain more mobile for a longer period. Thanks for the support 🤗

Posted using Partiko Android

Sounds like a challenge to go through all that. I wish you a thorough recovery.

Thank you so very much for your kind thoughts. I put a lot of thought into whether or not I should agree to this surgery since it is he is active. I'm hoping that this gay animal pays off in the end. I really would not like to have an early hip replacement if I can avoid it at all!

I am so glad to know recovery is going well! I pray you will continue to heal and regain your strength.

Thank you. I really appreciate your prayers! 🤗

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by wandrnrose7 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thank you!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64724.80
ETH 3460.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51