Betrothed

in #freewrite5 years ago (edited)

A burning question began to grow stronger in my heart day by day. "is there anything missing...

I looked around the fully furnished home. Everything was new and sparkling. I wandered from room to room touching items; lamps, vases, picture frames filled with smiling faces of children and of ancestors long buried, absorbing it all. Not a hint of dust covered a shelf or frame.

I walked to windows, parting flowing transparent curtains with my fingers and stared out at vast lands dotted with herds of fat cattle and horses lazily grazing.

From the upper floor of the house I watched a man below tend to a lush bed of brilliantly hued flowers.

A small pond to the right of the house shimmered in the morning sun and occasionally a movement in the water signified that a fish captured its breakfast.

"Your feet shall walk upon a plush carpet of contentment, Katlina."

I turned, startled by how my name rolled from the low masculine voice in the doorway behind me. I instinctively pulled my robe inward.

"Good morning, sir, I....I wasn't expecting to see you so soon."
He crossed the room in three long strides and was suddenly before me. I looked into Samuel's deep brown eyes and felt my heart involuntarily squeeze. Was it fear, or something else?

The journey to this place was exhausting. Only promise of a warm bed and rest sustained me through the grueling ordeal. We traversed thousands of miles by boat from England and were assailed by treacherous storms which almost overtook us in the weeklong journey to deliver me to meet this man, my betrothed. Several fell very ill and it was said a crewman died and was buried at sea.

"Did you sleep well, Katlina?"

"Yes, I did.....thank you. How did you rest, sir?

A half smile creased his tanned features and his eyes sparkled as they studied my face and drifted down.

"I'm glad you are rested. You will have a busy day getting introduced to the grounds and staff. Come, lets get breakfast in the dining room. You will need strength."

He presented an arm for me to take as we walked to the stairwell.

When we reached the end of the staircase, a young pink cheeked woman was gushing to a portly gentleman near the front
door.

".....and if the tourists were dead!"

"Mary! For God's sake what are you blathering about? Samuel spoke more sharply than I expected and I looked at Mary flushing bright beneath her employers gaze and clutching at her dust broom.

"I beg your forgiveness, Master Samuel, nothing, nothing at all really, j..just town gossip, that's all."

Samuel patted my hand, I flinched not expecting this gesture but stood waiting at his side. I may as well become accustomed to this, I thought sadly.

"After your morning duties, Mary, you will come to my office to give me the full tale."

"Yes, oh yes, Master Samuel."
Mary bobbed her head vigorously and rushed to tend to the kitchen, clutching her, dust mop in one hand as she skittered off.

src

This is a weekend combo five minute freewrite. Each prompt sentence is highlighted in the text. Prompts post daily under: @mariannewest. The weekend freewrite is a little more challenging. The one word prompts are here

I hope you'll join our growing group of dedicated freewriters! Contests weekly, win SBI!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

And join us at the Isle of Write in the freewriter - retreat

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

The Make a Minnow project is an initiative designed to reward those who are exceptional in the minnowsupport community, the prize is a 5k delegation for one month!

Earn free cryptocurrency through mannabase join here and free Sweatcoin ... It pays for walking referrals earn free coin, too!

is a little more challenging. It consists of three separate five minute sentence promts to weave into one story.

I hope you'll join our growing group of dedicated freewriters! Contests weekly, win SBI!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

And join us at the Isle of Write in the freewriter - retreat

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

The Make a Minnow project is an initiative designed to reward those who are exceptional in the minnowsupport community, the prize is a 5k delegation for one month!

Earn free cryptocurrency through mannabase join here and free Sweatcoin ... It pays for walking referrals earn free coin, too!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by wandrnrose7 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

There are two things I want to know
Will she happy with Samuel... it is stories of days gone by, where you worked at a relationship
And what is this rumour?
While I keep guessing ....

DQmdq4Y29JQ5TywGZ1qwnY72wArY8xS5HZFraHoJv9aE75H.png

Click On Me For Prompt👇🏿

IMG_9525.JPG

And don't forget to swing on over to the @FreeWriteHouse, to win some SBI shares

Thank you for reading and those are good questions! I read many like it growing up in the country. Thanks for the prompt!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94