OliversteemCreated with Sketch.

in #freewrite5 years ago

I present you a new shrink-adventure from the 6th floor. If you like to join the weekendfreewrite please do so.

"You don't have many options," Oliver said.

"You already paid the registration fee for 12... no even 13 months so you take part if you like it or not!" That is what he told me. What do you think about that doc?", he said?

"Why did you register if you don't like to take part?"

"He talked me into it. He always does. Can't you call them and cancel the whole thing for me, please?"

He looked at me with his big, wet, brown puppy eyes.

"Stop that nonsense. I don't like adults behave like little babies. You can make that phone call yourself. Afterall you are sick otherwise you wouldn't be here."

The group seemed to be interested in Tim's answer. They all looked at him and even Peter did not make one of his stupid remarks.

Tim seemed to think over my words.

He was one of these patients who stay till death separates him with his shrink. He did not need me, just needed someone to kick his ass once in a while.

He looked me right in the eye and we stared at each other. Suddenly he took his phone out of his pocket.

"I will do it", he said, I am not such a loser as you all think." He searched for the number on his phone.

"Your words not mine", Lucy said as she smiled at him.

He threw her a nod.
"I think my wrist is broken.", Tim said as his call was answered, "So I need to cancel and like to have my registration fee and the rest of the payment back. No, not for one month. I paid all of it, all 13 months."

[...]

His face showed the one he called was not willing to grant his wish.

"You are wrong", he continued. "You have to give me 14 days to change my mind. It's the law."

[....]

"If I haven't received the full amount on my account within 1 hour plus a written confirmation and excuse I sue you for scam, deception and being responsible for my broken wrist. Good day."

His face was emotionless as he closed his phone and put it back in his pocket.

"Damned, you are a tough one.", Peter said.

"You think you get your money back?", Lucy asked.

"Of course, I am a lawyer."

"What will you tell Oliver?, I wanted to know.

Tim could take care of himself but not handle Oliver who overruled him for the biggest part of his life.

"They all left me, he is the only one who stayed. What can I say?"

"You can thank him for his help, tell him its time to leave. You can take care of yourself."

"He always been there, helped me out in times of need."

"I know, but the times of need are over."

Carefully Lucy took one of his hands. "I am here for you", she said.

"I could use a great lawyer!", Peter added to it and we all knew he didn't lie about that.

"I don't know how to do it."

"Just say the words. You are the one in charge, it's your life."

As his phone buzzed Tim looked at it and smiled.

"I have my money back, I will take care of Oliver too."

The group left and I drank a cup of tea and enjoyed the silence.

Soon they all would leave. The so-called messed up people, the confused ones who visited their shrink for years had to start living their lives again. There was nothing wrong with them. They just needed to understand that normal people do not exist. All they needed was a bit of help to start and make a filled in crossword.

Someone knocked on my door.
As I called to enter a man's voice said: "It's me, Oliver. He told me it is time to leave him alone, he wants to live his own life, the bad days are over. I understand, but what will become of me?"

As I turned around I saw a guy who was Tim's spitting image, his big, brown eyes were filled with tears and he looked lost.

✔This is my entry for the weekendfreewrite.

If you like to freewrite too see @mariannewest 💕

More shrink stories

  1. Twenty years
    https://partiko.app/wakeupkitty/weekendfreewrite-twenty-years-hqnsuuko?referrer=wakeupkitty
  2. A small gesture works wonders.
    https://partiko.app/wakeupkitty/weekendfreewrite-a-small-gesture-works-wonders-3htqe9l1?referrer=wakeupkitty
  3. Balancing on the edge
    https://partiko.app/wakeupkitty/freewriting-balancing-on-the-edge-n4mjm3q9?referrer=wakeupkitty
  4. Trust me
    https://partiko.app/wakeupkitty/freewriting-trust-me-trqkgh5c?referrer=wakeupkitty
  5. Parroting Peter
    https://partiko.app/wakeupkitty/parroting-peter-pyxuh9b6?referrer=wakeupkitty
  6. Sailing the oceans
    https://partiko.app/wakeupkitty/sailing-the-oceans-cnjwbe7o?referrer=wakeupkitty
  7. One and never again!
    https://partiko.app/wakeupkitty/once-and-never-again-4w071rz6?referrer=wakeupkitty

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

What an eerie image, the two eye colors on that woman - and what a great line this is: He was one of these patients who stay till death separates him with his shrink. He did not need me, just needed someone to kick his ass once in a while.
And this speaks to me:
The so-called messed up people, the confused ones who visited their shrink for years had to start living their lives again. There was nothing wrong with them. They just needed to understand that normal people do not exist.

Too many the weekly appointments became a habit but it did not bring them any further.
It is such a waste of life. Survivors are strong people, they accept the kick in the ass, laugh about it and go on.
They are fine the way they are, the lack of self esteem only they can solve.

Posted using Partiko Android

Lovely ethereal looking photo. For some reason it reminds me of a wood nymph. 🧚‍♂️

I think it is or mother earth

Posted using Partiko Android

Close enough. 😊

This is hands down one of the most moving stories I've read in a while, kudos on making it so vivid.

Love the picture btw, it's so trippy!

Thanks for reading it and you compliment 💕

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65128.28
ETH 2950.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64