#freewriting - #What-do-you-smell?

in #freewrite5 years ago (edited)

As I read the prompt "perfume" I did not know what to write about it so I let it be and moved on.
I just read @felt.buzz freewrite with the same prompt and it did remind me at my mother. Not only because of the demon, but also because of the perfume. Fact is my mother never wanted children, she enjoyed to make everybody miserable and was busy for hours in front of the mirror.
I wish I could say she looks like a demon or is ugly ..... but she doesn't. She has the face of an angle (porcelain doll), is a master in manipulating, behaves like a spoiled kid and can fool everyone.
I never liked the way she smells no matter how much perfume and L'ancome and other stuff she used. I was always able to smell her next to the perfume, cremes, hairspray, etc. I still feel like vomiting if I think bout her smell. The worst thing that could happen to me was being forced to hug her (something that might calm her down according to my elderly sister).

What a relief it was as I read Patrick Süsskind his book "The Perfume".
For the first time in my life I read about someone who had the same special nose as I seem to have. Someone who was also able to smell all these different smells next to eachother instead of the so called bouquet of perfume. I turned out not to be the only one!

In many cases if I read a book that describes a person, situation or landscape I simply skip these parts, because it is boring and seldom adds something to the story.
This book was different. I read every word that was written.
The way the author describes Paris makes you walking around there, you even smell it! It also felt that way as he describes the way of making perfume... the whole process of how to save somebody's body smell. At the time you read that part it is clear why it is done and you nearly want to try it out yourself, following each step given.
Pity enough I never met someone with a great body smell. Only people who use half a bottle of perfume or aftershave in the hope to cover what they smell like (I can tell you that does not work, so you can stop using the overdose of it).

This is my entry at the daily #5-minute-freewrite with the prompt perfume. If you like to give it a try as well visit @mariannewest and the @freewritehouse for further information. If you like me to read your freewrite feel free to leave your link as a comment.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I cannot stand perfume and dislike any but the lightest touches of makeup (remember that much of the makeup also has a scent). At about the time I was around 45, I started having breathing problems and my throat would slam shut. I decided doctors prescription were not good for me and learnt to sip boiling water as soon as my throat closes (I was told it happened to me because of my love of walking around in London - and the petrol at that time still had lead).

After all that, it was only natural that my main character Robert would feel the same way. He does not complain if the girls use soap, but if they are about to make love, he insists the shower must be a non-soap shower so that he can smell their natural but clean body scents. He finds it an aphrodisiac, and so did I when I still had a relationship.

Now I'll confess to something odd: I suffer from chronic sinus and have lost most of my sense of smell - but it becomes acute if someone is emitting waves of artificial scent.

One of my favourie smells: Coffee (did you know that the aroma of coffee helps protect you from cancer?)

I can not stand perfumes, after shaves, deodorants etc either. I never used make-up so I do not know about the smells. Two of my kids can hardly smell anything, the youngest one has still allergies if it comes to perfumes, aftershaves... simply cannot stop sneezing and the nose is dripping, eyes tearing... I quess people overdosing themselves with all these different odeurs really have a bad nose at all. It is far of attractive.

As I understand many big cities make it hard to breathe... In Duisburg is was allowed to walk at certain times years ago and now the cities abandon the diesel cars because of the smog. The EU wants to forbid the diesel car now.

So sipping boiled water does help? Will try that too.

I believe there are soaps without perfume washing powder I also can not stand, already in the shop I feel sick if I come close to that part of the store. Good there are chestnuts.

I can only agree with your character Robert and you. If you make love you like to smell the person not soap, make-up, deodorant and perfume. Btw many relationships come to an end because of the body scent of the partner. So... at a certain point people start to dislike it or.. they smell their partner from the first time for real?

Posted using Partiko Android

This way of freestyle free flow writing is certainly fun to read. And you have a special nose for sure. :)


I am here to deliver the next prompt to you. Here it is, check it out! It is 'fire alarm'.

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63950.69
ETH 3311.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92