#freewriting - Carnival no fun at all

in #freewrite6 years ago

I can not stand carnival.

I am not used to celebrate it, I was always told it is a celebration for Catholics. About a year ago I discovered this is not true at all. Still in my home country they say it is and carnival is celebrated mainly under the big rivers (which is the south part of Holland and I never lived over there).

People save money for this huge celebration (of being mainly drunk)

at their favorite pub for 1 year. Prince Carnival (chosen at November 11) has to bring a big wallet along to dress up his helpers. Weird thing is this celebration is still not emancipated .. there is never a Princess Carnival.

Once I celebrated it in Germany,

1 week earlier since the city was punished ages ago because of their behaviour. They were no longer allowed to celebrate it. So a smart ass decided to celebrate it 1 week earlier. I was forced to join a group of women, drunk, dressed up like ugly witches (I hate dressing up like an idiot). The end of that party was to drop the front door keys all together, at a heap. Each man picked out 1 key and went home with the woman the key belongs to...

This is my entry at @mariannewest her daily 5 minute freewrite. Prompt: carnival.
The picture is a pixabay.com and this is not funny at all!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Wow!!
That key thing....
Just like that eh?
Maybe I am a prude hahaha
Let's not talk about what I'd do.... let's talk about what you'd do
With the next prompt

DQmdq4Y29JQ5TywGZ1qwnY72wArY8xS5HZFraHoJv9aE75H.png

Here it is:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-409-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-quarantine

You also want to check out the @FreeWriteHouse for the fun that’s brewing there

FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Hi @wakeupkitty,

I recommended your post in the freewritehouse weekly contest just now. I hope you never have to go through this again!

Thanks! I stay away of it and left Germany. Noticed it still is celebrated, perhaps they skipped the "key part" by now?

Posted using Partiko Android

lol - I hope so. Yuck!

You’ve been featured in our weekly curation post Freewrite Favorites at @freewritehouse. Thank you for participating and raising the bar with awesome, creative freewrites! Freewrite On!

FreewriteFavorites-teal-300.png

wow. that doesn't sound like fun at all. And the key thing!! I hope the guys in the group were at least handsome... or the women not too drunk to kick them out.

Never heard of a city where you couldn't celebrate Fasching - not that it is a celebration...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64854.61
ETH 3478.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52