You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: RUN FOR YOUR LIFE (5-minute Freewrite)

in #freewrite6 years ago

My dad told me stories of back in the 30s my grandpa was on the east coast of the us and saw tons of cars with families and people packing up in a panic because of the Orson Wells War of the Worlds radio broadcast. He was a traveling salesmen for Breck I believe and it was a few years before my dad was born so he was on the road a lot. He said the freeways were packed for miles with everyone leaving Jersey, I think. They had to broadcast a disclaimer saying it was all fiction and Martians really were not flying down.

Sort:  

Yes! I recall hearing about that - incredible! Would have loved to see that event. Although, I probably would have fallen for the storytelling like everyone else

Posted using Partiko iOS

It was apparently very well done. Obviously that hundreds if not thousands of people really thought the whole story was real. I believe you should still be able to get the audio drama and listen to it. Its hard to believe that TV didn't exist back then or barely. So radio and word of mouth was the only social media.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60787.40
ETH 2994.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82