5 Minute Free Write Challenge - Topic: SplintersteemCreated with Sketch.

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

The first thing that comes to mind when I think of splinters is my Granny. If it was one that couldn’t be easily removed with tweezers, she’d break out the bacon. Next thing you know she’d have a good chunk of bacon fat wrapped up over the splinter. The craziest thing about it was that in the morning the splinter had usually worked its way back out, or enough of it to comfortably be able to grab it for extraction. There are so many old timey remedies. I’m glad that I’m old enough to have been experimented on.

Splinters also make me think of this hawthorn tree I have on my property. Man o’ man does that thing have some huge thorns on it. I’m convinced they could be used to make some form of weapon. They’d impel easily. I need to run out back and take a picture of these things. I swear, I’m not exaggerating.

IMG_7539.JPG

Sort:  

That is an impressive thorn!

The whole tree is covered in them. It is referred to as the murder tree, after several birds have made a wrong landing choice over the years. Yikes.

Poor birds!

💙

It's always such a sad sight. I need to look up and see where the trees are native. This is the only one I've ever seen. Not something I'd plant, that's for sure.

Trees should definitely be bird-safe zones.

I never heard the bacon remedy! And I'd hate to try to climb that tree! upped

Granny was born in the 1800's. She had a ton of remedies. I wish I had written more down.

My grandma, too. She cooked a goose every time her grease jar got low. It was used as a plaster on your chest anytime you had a cold.

Wow, those are awfully big thorns! You are right. They are not splinters they are miniature trees...

Haha, you can say that again. It was a young tree that I literally ran into while clearing out some tall brush when I moved to the property. I was gonna cut it down but my kiddo convinced me to let it grow. She uses the thorns to make projects with and sells them. Thankfully it's tall enough now that I don't bump into any of the branches. I still find casualties in it though, a butterfly the other day.

Bacon to the rescue!! yay. I too wished you wrote more of those remedies down. We have forgotten so much good knowledge. Not saying that all home remedies were good but a lot were. I bet you could use that thorn as a nail!!! thanks for taking the picture!! today's prompt: https://busy.org/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-11-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-sleep

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85