Core Values

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Before I understood what core values are, I already had negative ones. I have had it rough for most of my life so bitterness had already made camp inside me. Warming up to negative was automatic for me... it was easier for my soul back then.

For a very long time, I believed that I deserved pain or misfortunes because it is what I saw happen to me more often than not. I stayed in an abusive marriage ignoring my pain and happiness while expecting different results. To my unaware mind, I was powerless to change my gloomy situation or survive the brutality of this world.

Cold relatives made me assume that no other soul out there was loving or caring. I cruised through my days drenched in suffocating anger, constantly questioning my existence. My kind belonged in the graveyard or so I thought but I was too much of a coward to take my life.

Change.

It came unexpectedly when I was in prison. I usually say that the government handed me compulsory solitude for one and a half years which oddly gave me an opportunity to start looking for myself. What I was truly made of. The fundamental beliefs that make up my essence or being. My core values!

After avoiding solitude for years -I hated being alone which helped me stay preoccupied and find ways to ignore my reeking pain- we met behind bars and got acquainted. I had to deal with a lot and that translated into long nights and even longer days.

My weight dropped to 47 kilograms at the time but I could feel a small flame of something I didn't recognize as a part of me burning fiercely within me. It amplified my NOs and reaffirmed my YESes. Defiance started building up against a system my minimal education could rat out and the will to live and be more than I was followed suit.

I remember the fear that came with walking through those prison gates -It is the largest women correctional facility in Kenya and East Africa- unaware that I'd find whatever unlocked who I am today. I didn't enjoy my stay in prison, nobody ever does but I am thankful that I did go through it.

That year and a few awakened my being from some grave within me. My faith in humanity and community was restored by the sisterhood I experienced when I was in prison. My core values became apparent to me around the same time. It is also where I started my healing journey :)

FB_IMG_1530041142868.jpg

(Recent Spear Course Training at Langata Women Maximum Prison by the team I work with at Clean Start Kenya. My boss is the gorgeous tall soul in navy blue somewhere in between. This is the same place I served my sentence!)

This monologic piece was inspired by @kimberlylane hosted by the amazing @mariannewest through the prompt, core values.

Recent Post :)

Freewrite Poetry... Suffers in Silence.

Thank you for coming and your continued support.

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

Sort:  

How awesome that you found your strength and changed your core values. It is so hard for us to see inside of ourselves, especially when there is so much external turmoil in our daily lives.

I usually say prison is what saved my life! Thank you so much for coming :)

Me too, as far as fearing being alone and not finding those around me to be very supportive. I've spent a fairly isolated year and believe I am finding mySELF and a happiness and peace that could only come from that dark night of the soul.

I love it when a reader of mine relates. It tells me that I am not alone. That we are not alone. Many of us are out here trying to heal and soar again and I am so glad we are somehow equipped to write because we can hasten this journey.

Hugs.

I am a big believer that things happen for a reason. This is proof! I love how you are giving back to help others. : )

Resident cat here, playing around while delivering today's prompt:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-251-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-players

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!
Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

This is an amazing story of coming into your own. I am so glad that you stopped suffering as a victim and are using your powerful voice here on steemit!!

Upvoted this post since suffering is already past the due date.

Thank you so :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60249.61
ETH 2321.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51