You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Alternative Radio

in #freewrite7 years ago

In a lot of ways, I agree completely how it was more or less a rebranding of the Gen X cultural scene. In a lot of ways, it's even more that scene that I miss than the music itself, if I'm being honest. Those moments were MTV was still relevant and hip and showed it with subversive and weird programming like Beavis and Butthead and Wonder Showzen. In a weird way, these countercultural ideas and concepts have been accepted into the culture at large and further diluted to the point where they're becoming more common and the norm in creative endeavors, which is both somewhat uplifting but also feels like a loss as it seems as if the uniqueness that had pervaded it is now gone.

However, like you've said, there still is a prevailing sense of that creativity to be found in lesser channels. I haven't gotten to dig as deep or experiment as much in recent years as I had a bit ago, mostly do to time constraints. However, it is exciting to always learn more about what's out there. I can agree that radio is dead as far as being a medium that moves the artistic form of music forward. The dominance of big groups like Clear Channel buying out station after station has helped to make sure that it's pretty well safe, cookie cutter slop. Problem being that when you're driving a clunker that keeps shorting most of its electronics out, radio tends to be one of your best bets for entertainment on the road.

I gave your article a read and an upvote. I'm sorry into it, and you seem to know your stuff pretty damn well so I'll be following. I appreciate your vote and liking the article here. I'll be following you during my stay here since I'm always down to discover something new in the arts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66263.69
ETH 3419.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63