5 Minute Freewrite: Monday - Prompt: sunflower seeds

in #freewrite6 years ago

freewrite.jpg

5 minute free writing challenge. Ready, Set, GO


Sunflower Seeds

When I think of sunflower seeds I think of playing baseball. That was my first experience with sunflower seeds. I could not eat them very well, (still cannot but I looked just like any other 12year old boy with a big huge bulge in his cheek. I could only chew and spit out a mouthful of salty smashed shells. All of the other boys could maneuver them in their mouths and crack the seeds and spit out the hulls with little effort. I was not so lucky.

My next experience with sunflower seeds is during my time in the military. This was the go to when we could not smoke or dip tobacco. Anywhere you look still to this day (I assume as I have been separated for well over 6 years now) on any military installation there will be shells and discarded hulls all over the ground. I am certain that it cannot be too sanitary to have a bunch of spit and body fluids spread around like grass.

I am old enough now that I have quit tobacco and do not chew seeds like we used to. I wish they had all of the available flavors back then as they do now: ranch, bbq, chili, and my favorite: dill pickle! I am a fan of anything pickle flavored!
Back on topic. Sunflower seeds. I have not seen…

5 minutes up

real sunflowers since I have moved to Texas. I am not even sure they can stand the summers here. Maybe after this writing exercise I will Google where sunflowers are naturally found and maybe some of their characteristics. Thanks for the thoughts and giving something to research.

AF2BA33A-F0DE-41AA-AE45-F0BE6375293D.png

DD62DDE1-090D-432F-A834-2462093701C9.png

Looking for a few ways to earn passive income?

Please check out the following links to earn:

  • Steemit has its own activity app! Please check out @actifit to learn how to earn SMT and Steem Power!


Sort:  

I hope you've found some florists nearby that sell them! Sunflowers would make a nice addition to the dining table! Here's today's prompt:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-375-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-forty-four

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62419.28
ETH 2628.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56