Syrup (#freewrite day 138)

I'm trying something new from this day on: My contribution to #freewrite kind of ends in the middle of everything (I'd say even in the middle of the beginning) - because I still tend to take these 5 minutes seriously ;) But I also felt I hadn't quite figured out where I wanted my story to go, it didn't come as easily to me as it has with other prompts. And when I actually had an idea, I was pretty sure that I needed much more than 5 minutes.
So I will try to continue my story during the next days with the next freewrite prompts. I'm really curious if this will work out, since I do have kind of a story in my mind now, but of course I don't know the next prompts and maybe I'll have to re-think a lot - which will be really interesting.

Here's my contribution to today's freewrite prompt: syrup), and at the same time the first part of my story:

Syrup

It was a bit sticky, somewhat red-ish. Tara looked at the bottle on the table in front of her.

"What is in it, mum?", she shouted from the kitchen towards the living room.

"How would I know, I can't even see what you're looking at!", her mum replied, a bit exhausted and a bit impatient.

"It's a bottle, mum", Tara kept shouting.

"Oh, a bottle", her mother's tone became sarcastic, "well that narrows it down ..."

It does, doesn't it?, Tara thought, and wondered why her mother would be sarcastic about it.

"It's a small bottle with some red ... I don't know, that's why I'm asking." Tara started to sound even more annoyed than her mother.

Her mother didn't reply.

"And it's a bit sticky around its neck", Tara shouted, thinking this might be a really helpful clue.

Her mother still didn't answer.

Tara jumped down the brown kitchen chair, trying her best to not hurt herself and not to make too much noise, either. Her mum didn't like that, she had told Tara so many times that she would have headaches and felt dizzy in the morning. Or when she got up.

Sort:  

Well written conversation. :)

Thank you so much!

Thanks a lot! It actually made me take a small detour - who would have known I'd have to deal with an artichoke today! ;)

what is mom doing?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 63782.14
ETH 3146.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55