One extra hour (#weekend #freewrite)

This is my contribution to the single prompt option of Weekend Freewrite!

But I'm also trying to contribute to the Weekend Freewrite that consists of three different prompts / parts.

So free feel to check out my next posts, I'll hopefully have my three part story finished soon!

But here's my single prompt contribution first, I chose "itching" as my prompt.

DSC03667.JPG

One extra hour

She was exhausted. The day had been long, so long. Longer than usual, she felt, and wondered if there maybe was a hidden hour, literally, an hour that nobody knew about, that wasn't measured by clocks and watches and phones and mobiles and computers. An hour that was just there. To make her life even more miserable.
She hadn't slept well last night, she had dreamt of these itchy things that came falling from these plants ... she had forgotten the name or never ever known it, but in her dream she had been standing right in the middle of a huge garden, no, more like a field, she thought, full of these plants, and before she did even realize where she was or what was around her, before she could ask herself how she did get there, if this was a dream or maybe reality after all, all these plant things had opened up, they were blown into her direction, she could feel a friendly tickling at first, something that made her chuckle for an instant, but soon she realized that it was very unpleasant, that it was more an itch than a tickle, that she wanted to scratch her naked hands when her face started itching, too, and she wanted to scratch her cheeks, her forehead, her nose, oh god, even her lips, soon her whole body was itching, from head t tor, she could scratch as fast as she wanted, not as hard as she wanted, it just wouldn't go away, it didn't get better at all, all her efforts were in vain, it became worse and worse though she scratched faster and harder, pressed her fingernails into her skin, she couldn't stop, it just wouldn't stop itching, just wouldn't stop! then she screamed, desperate, and woke up from her own scream, looked down on her body and saw the red scratch marks on her forearms, the dripping blood on the back of her left hand. Only a dream, she gasped. Wasn't it?

Sort:  

What an awful way to wake up! Hopefully it was a dream, a terribly realistic dream!

Thanks! I hope so, too - but my skin was really itching when I had finished this ...

Oh yes, I think that my wife actually has those dreams! If people were honest, I think that they would say that this is a far too real nightmare to be thinking or writing about. Vampires, werewolves, and ghosts have their place in the rankings, but an uncontrollable itch YIKES! 😦

Wow! I'm actually quite a vivid dreamer and the line between dream or rather nightmare and reality can in fact become blurry - thankfully not always (cos that would be so exhausting), but I guess that was (unconsciously) where the idea came from.

Today your prompts are being delivered by a young, spindly legged Gerenuk who has recently moved to the town of Freewrite. (We handed him the bag, told him it was tradition that each new resident upheld, then went to luau!)

Freewrite Day 129 - Fingernail

Thank you for delivering the bag of nuts, hehe ;) The squirrel always makes me smile, it's so great :))

Hi my name is Jerome. I am giving away 0.500 SBD for signing up to this ICO

After you have completed you will receive your reward

Good post! Try using more popular tags

I hope it was only a dream!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58009.23
ETH 3063.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34