Five Minute Freewrite--California

in #freewrite7 years ago

Find the prompt here!

IMG_20170920_135554.jpg

California is the state I was born in, and now the state my baby was born in. It's always held a special place in my heart because I could call myself a "native Californian," even though I grew up mostly in Washington state. It felt special to me to call myself that. California is a place of dreams and beaches and palm trees. It's a dreamscape. I guess that's why we came to live here, to follow our dreams. It's dirty, though, too, here in L.A., and I love its contrasts. Love and hate, that is. The poor live at the doorstep of the incredibly wealthy. Everyone can enjoy the beaches, except for where the millionaires and billionaires block public access. It's too easy for the very well-off to ignore these paradoxes. They stay in their mansions and just don't have to think about it. I'm glad our kid will grow up without a car, taking public transit with masses of humanity, poor and wealthy alike. Because apparently some wealthy people take public transit. Vincent Kartheiser said he did, anyway. I wonder if that's still true, or if it ever really was true. California. Land of dreams and palm trees and beaches. Okay, I'm done writing now but shit the timer just went off.

Sort:  

Hey @stinawog! Wow you even find the time to freewrite.. and what a great one. Thank you for your perspective about a place and culture so far from where I live in Europe. I see however that inequality is an issue everywhere.. better to be poor and happy than rich and without a soul, I say.

Nice piece. There is poverty everywhere of course but likely so much more obvious against such a beautiful backdrop of beaches and palm trees.

I'm your friendly freewrite encourager here with your prompt for today:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-111-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-dream

I love you!

So glad you found some time to write with us!!
How is the little dude?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63252.26
ETH 2662.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79