5 Minute Freewrite: Nail

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

@improv told me the #freewrite today was nails, not nail, so this is all a lie. jk. But that really did happen. You can do it right, but probably late if you're following my link, here.

Nails. I cut my fingernails yesterday and they are so short, right down to the skin, the way I love them. I once tried to grow them out, when I was a teenager, when I wore mascara and contacts and plucked my eyebrows and shaved my armpits and legs and wore a bra. Ha! I wore a bra when I was a teenager and weighed 100 pounds. If I don't need one now, nursing my nearly 6 month old baby, I sure didn't need one then. But teenagers are all about conforming and breaking away from conformity without actually breaking away from it at all. Conforming by rebelling. Dyeing hair, becoming a vegetarian, that sort of thing. The nails thing, though. That was a short-lived phase. No matter what, I'm just a dirty person. I like touching things. I get dirt under my fingernails at a fast pace. It took me awhile, just there, to say "at a fast pace." I wanted to say something clever. I also chip paint on my nails faster than you can see cheezit! If it gets to the point of drying without smudging, it's chipped. So I've learned to let my body be the way that makes me happy. Short nails, hairy pits, unplucked brows. And thank god for modern technology that makes it so I'm no longer a glasses person. LASIK is from the nonexistent gods.

ps I'm still a vegetarian 20 years later.

Sort:  

To authenticity!

And for me, I've learned that part of my authenticity is removing the evidence of my personal hirsutism (at least facially.) When they grow, the unibrow and mustache seem completely foreign, like they belong to someone else.

Oh, if only I could also 86 my bras. Alas, one person's pain is another's comfort. To boobs of all shapes and sizes, I guess?

Whatever floats your boat! : ) Being comfortable and happy is what is important. I also caught your clever statement. : )
Resident cat here, delivering today's prompt. It is a picture prompt.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-188-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt

I'm glad you are who you are!

I have short hair and short nails for the same reason. I do wear bras - but I didn't as a bit older teenager. Burnt those things then... 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54391.40
ETH 2283.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29