5 Minute Freewrite: Movement

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Find the prompt here!

Movement. Movimiento. We have a children’s book that says that. The book is called A is for Activist. Or Activism, I can never remember. But movement. A movement. When enough people are working toward some kind of change, it’s called a movement. We need more movements for good. There’s too much not good. It’s easy to think that your own individual actions don’t matter. It’s better to join a group that is working toward your ideals, so you can work toward them together and feel that power in a group, in a movement. It’s too easy to feel and be isolated. I’m lucky to have a partner with similar ideals, but even we need to be a part of larger groups, to work with others, to feel the power in numbers, to feel what even small groups of people can accomplish. I’ve been meaning to get back into volunteering on a regular basis. I haven’t really volunteered anywhere on a regular basis since I was a teenager, I think. That’s far too long. I’ve done volunteering here and there, I’m not a total cretin, but going somewhere and being someone that others can count on is important. And makes me feel like a part of a larger movement.

aisforactivist.png
That is my pregnant belly from last year.

Sort:  

Yes, it's important to not feel alone. I think it's very important to completely understand a cause before joining.


I'm also the prompt fairy again! ☄
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-281-5-minute-freewrite-friday-prompt-breed

Or, if you have a favourite freewrite poem to recommend, hop here and give yourself a chance to win one SBI. Click on the photo below and you will reach there immediately 😁.

Imgur

See You There!😀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58251.65
ETH 2369.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37