5 Minute Freewrite: Cane

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Find the prompt here!

Cane. Sugar cane. Sugar. I love it. Rotting teeth. Futility. I never knew adulthood would be so much, what is the purpose of life? Thought I had it all figured out as a teenager, oh NO I would never be one of those Christians who lost faith. Oh hey, hi! I'm an atheist! I usually have hope in humanity, in our ability to be good, do good, but some days it's harder than others. We kind of suck, too. My other blog is called Fucked Up and Wonderful because that's what life is. I'm overall a hopeful, positive person, but some days are harder. Cane? Candy cane. Back to sugar. Cane. Walking with a cane. Hunched, hooped, bent. Old. Futility. Back to that. Whenever I think about futility, I think about Jane Goodall and hope. I think maybe she wrote a book about hope, and I keep thinking I should get it from the library. But I have two books checked out from the library right now, and another on hold, and I'm barely reading them. I'm a fiction girl at heart, and they're all non-fiction. LAME. I was thinking about reading earlier. My first true love.

Sort:  

Haha I am a non-fiction girl who has a poets heart. Nothing lame about the NF ;)

Some days certainly test our hope. Good thing that there are days that fill the meters to bursting (I'd like to think it balances out). :)
Love the name of your other blog! I didn't even think about candy canes. I wonder if I have any left over still from Christmas. (I hope I don't.) Thank you and your freewrite for letting me indulge in my love of reading!

Time for some Friday fun!
ezgif.com-resize (4).gif
GIF via giphy

Freewrite Day 190 - a ridiculous amount of fun

Keep up to date with everything #freewrite related!
Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in!

I am glad that you wrote. And keep the hope. That is really all we have. Bring those non-fiction books back and learn what you need by listening to a podcast - and get the juicy fiction book and enjoy.
I was just visiting with a Filipina friend and I told her about the cane prompt and that nobody used sugar cane (first thing which came to her mind). So glad that you did!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61482.47
ETH 2990.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67