5 Minute Freewrite: a creature of absolute convictions

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Find the prompt here!

A creature of absolute convictions. That was me as a teenager. Especially 18 year old me before I had done much traveling and met different people. The dog. The dog barking at a newly arrived person. People talking. I reset the timer because I was dealing with the dog. Lochlan is sleeping and has been for more than two hours. Every other day he's had hour long naps and today, the day we are waiting for him to wake up in order to head back to Los Angeles (we're visiting Brendan's sister at the moment), he sleeps and sleeps and sleeps. Anyway. Teenagers. I think I was convinced that I knew...well, I wasn't so totally convinced that I was right about everything, but I was very, very certain that I would be vegan for the rest of my life and that I would be Christian for the rest of my life. I know this comes up in my posts a lot. Recently, it's because I've been rereading my journal from when I was 18-19 years old. In answer to someone's question in a comment that I never responded to, when I was leaving Christianity, I tried to be a different type of Christian. A Christian who still believed in God without necessarily thinking that everything in the Bible was so literally true. But one thing I wrote in my 18-19 year old's journal, was that I had learned (at Bible school) that the whole Bible was the God-breathed Word and I either had to accept all of it or none of it. Then, it was all of it. Now, it is none of it. None of it as Truth, that is. It's a story book to me now, a religious document like other religious documents. What time is it? I think the timer must have stopped without my knowing. But anyway, to answer that person's question, yes, I reject all religion.

Sort:  

I think most religions have become so institutionalized that they lost most of their good intentions.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63131.59
ETH 2586.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78