You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Trust | Random Freewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

So powerful. Photo is off the charts.

I've had my trust broken by several poorly-chosen partners I deeply loved to break me repeatedly, and also my Dad recently leaving me with a lifelong battle to sort out. It'd be more than enough for even the strongest to crawl into a cave and never want to love or risk being hurt again, but I've always had this voice of reason inside that tells me that every new person deserves a fair chance. They get a clean slate because they don't deserve to be counted out because of ghosts from my past. It's not their fault and there's a bit of hope that perhaps everything happened for a reason. My faith never changed and I got stronger and wiser each time. Sure, I have doubts at times, but I let them guide me as a rational voice of reason when something seems like a normal red flag. Accidental mini freewrite here when this is your show.

One of my favorite quotes I learned from a fortune cookie is "A ship in harbor is safe, but that is not what ships are built for."

I feel that the same goes for our hearts, whether with friends, family, or more.

For a laugh on the topic of resilience, behold Monty Python's Black Knight clip. This too shall pass. 'Tis but a scratch.

Side note - I remember the first words I said when I met you at SF... not sure if you do, but while I meant them, I can only imagine the huge unintentional cringe you must've felt given this post. (Maybe a better laugh.)

Sort:  

Awe thank you for this amazing comment.. and please, I don’t have a show.. I’m here for you guys 🤗

It’s funny because a lot of times we loose trust due to the end result of romantic relationships, but I feel that the others in our life are just as detrimental. Those friendships, family members, business deals etc.. they will punch us in the gut just the same. So I 100% agree with you, we can’t hide away (that’s one of my fav quotes btw), or we miss what we were meant for. We just need to find the ability to “spot” the trustworthy ones and then be brave enough to be vulnerable once again. Everything that happens, I believe is what makes us discover who we were destined to be. Keep fighting brother ❤️

I do not remember 👀.. I thought we talked about COM? In my defense i was jet lagged and don’t remember much lo. Tell me! Tell me!

My first words when shaking your hand were "Don't worry, you can trust me." Apparently, I sensed enough skepticism to subconsciously blurt that out as a stupid way to break the ice. Of allll things, the T word!


Glad you forgot... until I just trapped myself into reminding you. Wop wop.

This just made me cackle 😂

I forgot about that! ... and strangely enough.. didn’t find it odd at all. I’m glad I give off the I don’t trust you vibe, sheesh.. how pleasant lol. For the record, this post was for other people too. I trust, I’m just not quick to trust 😉

Your cackle word choice gave me the idea to try to make more people... cackle. [read: "Allow myself to introduce... myself." - Austin Powers]

If you can handle more laughing, check this post out, or click the video from it below. If my subtitles aren't on, click the "CC" tab. Enjoy!

This is a worthy share, @steemmatt, thanks for leaving it here. This quote especially sums up my feelings about life:

"A ship in harbor is safe, but that is not what ships are built for."

I keep taking risks, afraid, but doing it anyway, because I want to LIVE. I keep trying to trust, because if I stop trying, then what's the point? raises glass to toast those who are willing to keep trying

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62678.63
ETH 3015.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49