freewrite for Saturday

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

and the prompt is: It was Saturday morning

20151223_121118.jpg
(I made this pair for my parents)

It was Saturday morning and I had just made coffee when the phone rang. It was my sister. "We're going to start a business," she said, "you paint and I'll sell your paintings. Paint new monsters." I have painted 2, 300 monsters in my life (and sculpted many more) but none recently. Also I like to paint them and give them away, to the people the monsters remind me of (they're happy monsters, mostly. I gave my sister and her husband a furry bride and groom as a wedding gift, ready for the monster's ball).

"Hmmm," I said, "will people actually buy them? What if suddenly I forget how to paint?"

"Stop worrying, just go stretch a canvas," she said, and hung up.

It's three hours later, I haven't stopped thinking about it and have been rolling a pencil in my hand for most of the day, which I seem to do before I start painting. Even if I can't paint today, thinking about monsters and lines and colors makes it a juicier day. No need to check the phone or watch mindless TV or give in to worry. Creation washes my mind clean.

Sort:  

Sometimes we just need a kick in the ass. :-))

Your sculpted monsters are so cute and I'm sure that everyone gifted with one treasures that they were made especially for them! Good luck to you and your sister with your new business!

Some of the young gremlins of the town of Freewrite have been kind enough to volunteer to deliver today's prompts! Please be advised, they have silly string and have eaten their way through a basket of Pixie Stix.

Freewrite Day 178 - sugar bowl

Keep up to date with everything #freewrite related!
Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Thanks @brisby, for your kind words and the new freewrite. Will get on it. Have a cheerful Sunday.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60752.39
ETH 2904.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73