Day 15 of Free Write: Turbine Prompt

in #freewrite6 years ago

These freewrites continue to always be so fitting for me when I look at them. So I am going to be driving back down to my university in central Illinois today and if there are one thing that I am going to see besides corn (which is fitting with the prompt from the other day...) it is going to be wind turbines!

I thought it was pretty funny that corn was a prompt the other day since I was pretty close to having to drive through all of that very soon, but I don't think I mentioned how close the day was when I'd have to. Well after posting this I am about to hit the road in an hour or so where I will be driving through corn AND wind turbines! I've been told that the turbines in central Illinois are very loud, but I have yet to actually get out of my car to see and hear them in action. They really only have them in the less populated areas, so once I actually get into town where I attend school, there is no way I will hear them.

It is possible to see them, however, if you go to a high-up enough area. There are some buildings in the city that are about 15-20 stories high and if you look out the window into out of town area, you can see little red lights light up at night in the distance. Those weird red lights that all light up in unison are the wind turbines just pushing away creating energy in the distance. Well it is about that 5 minute mark, and I need to hit the road!

Check out the freewrite challenge at the link below!
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-87-5-minute-freewrite-sunday-prompt-turbine

Sort:  

Turbines and corn . Seems like a good mix . Which university do you go to?

Illinois State!

I have always wanted to try and design my own wind turbine, but it is one of those things that you dream about yet never find the time or the resources to actually do.

Oh wow, I couldn't imagine what it would be like to design your own!

We have a lot of wind turbines in Scotland. It's funny, when I saw it the idea of a turbine did pop in to my head.

Thanks for the post.

Wind turbines and corn fields...like a vision of a clean energy future :D
There's the link to the prompt for today: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-88-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-see-below

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60670.43
ETH 3380.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51