Day 45: 5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt: the smell of a dumpster

in #freewrite7 years ago

Happy Sunday!

Did you ever want to write short stories? Do you have writer's block? Are you afraid of making mistakes when writing?

If you answered "Yes" to any of these questions you really need to do yourself a favor and join the @mariannewest 's #freewrite group!

You will have so much fun! The best part is you don't even have to come up with your own topic and it will only take you 5 minutes a day!!

I promise you will not regret trying it!

Here is the prompt for today's #freewrite: Day 45: 5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt: the smell of a dumpster

Click here to find out more: Writers or wanna be Writers Wanted!!!! Be Free! Freewrite!

Here is mine for today.


Source

As I sat in my room, I thought of the wonderful smell of the dumpster from 2 months ago.........

How I wish now that same dumpster smelled as good as it did then.

The family that was living in it kept it so clean and Maggie, the mother, cooked every night food that made your mouth water.

For Maggie, it ended up to be a blessing when Gorden walked by. He had stopped in his tracks when he had gotten close to it on our walk. His eyes, as he looked at me, questioned the smell and wanted answers if I had them.

I told him how Maggie and her family had lost their house when her Mother passed away. How the State took the rest of the money to pay off the Hospital bills.

How she had been homeless with her 2 children, walking the streets not knowing where to go but afraid for her young ones.

She had spotted the, just emptied, dumpster on her walk...........

Beep!

Happy Writing!
Snook

Sort:  

I love what you did with this! The story of the homeless is heartbreaking and all too common, unfortunately. I have to read more!

Ohhhhhhh Thank You :D and yes it is......

and yes, it deserves more......someday I hope!

smiles I have tons calling me back!

I feel moved, thanks!

You're getting me all misty-eyed again! This was a lovely and touching piece @snook.

I'm sorry :(

Thank you for reading it tho
hugs

Wow! I didn't expect that! Good story. I want to read more!

Thanks :D and so do I!!
want to finish it?
:D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64821.33
ETH 3466.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51