Day 10: 5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt: Splinter

in #freewrite7 years ago

My Day 10: 5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt: Splinter

~~

As I sat and ate breakfast in my quiet house, the sun was shining after days and days of rain.

The wind was blowing softly across the frame, blowing the drapes just enough to clean the air of humidity from the last week.

As I looked down I saw the table start to split.............. and splinter.

There was no noise.

It just split and kept splitting........

I had no idea what to do...........but I could not look away as my wooden table just splintered to nothing before my eyes..........

I looked out the window where just before? minutes ago.............. the world was all on its correct axis and saw the orange flames in the sky.


Sourse

I was afraid to move.

I was afraid to blink my eyes.

I wanted to!!

In hopes that if I blinked, when I opened my eyes again the curtains would be blowing again, softy, oh so softly, but my eyes................they just stared at the orange flames that got bigger and bigger through my window.

My world then splintered.

BEEP!

Smiles today to all!!
Snook

Sort:  

You are painting this calm picture of all sweetness - and then, bam! The end of the world. Love it!!! So glad you are writing with us! And I so appreciate that you visit the other freewriters. thank you!!! Today's prompt: https://busy.org/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-11-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-sleep

Thanks :D and I love reading other peoples stories !! and today's prompt was VERY easy for me loll

going back to bed now! loll

I wish you could have blinked your eyes to get back to your peaceful world. The ending was so sad. I really enjoyed this.

Those chlifhangers make my mind spinn stories all the time, haha - love it!!!

:D thanks! I'm really loving the 5 minutes a day writing! and reading everyone else's posts and see all the different topic's from the same prompt but I think the people are the best part! <3

I am trying to catch as many of them as I can as well! It is a fun game and I am so thankfull to @mariannewest and @improv for starting this :-)

Really is nice to have something short to read. The long post often lose me in the middle.

But.....!!! What a cliffhanger!! Love it.

Thanks :D
this one was hard for me!

I really like this style of narration!

Thank You!!

Wow. That is awesome!!!!!!

:D Thank You so much!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62835.77
ETH 3392.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50