Day 580: 5 Minute Freewrite: Thursday - Prompt: Rule - A Lawn Chair Story Freewrite - "Of Death and Magic"

in #freewrite5 years ago

6-3-2019

Limits of Magic

001 lawnchair 11-17-18.jpg
Source @bashadow

The first rule of magic – There are no rules. I took this to heart. If a problem could be solved with magic, then solve it. If a problem would be made worse by magic, then let the magic fly. It was all about the magic, not about a rule or rules or fix or not fix, Magic was simple. It wanted to be used, it wanted to do things, and it wanted to be set free of all confines. I loved magic, there was nothing magic could not do. Well there was the one thing I had not learned of magic, and I am not sure if it can be done at all.

My friend had died. No amount of magic that I had learned or tried could bring him back. I tried on others, on other subjects. I did not want to bring him back to only live a forever life in pain and misery. One short faced kit fox I bought back went completely mad. They were beloved animals for pets and familiars for their just and friendly ways. He went completely insane, attacking everything it saw alive or dead with a vengeance and a seeming need to just kill. Total opposite of what there were in pre-death life.

I had to give up on my desire. It took all my magical strength and power to put down the short faced kit fox. I was out of it for two weeks after. I learned my lesson, I have never tried to bring back from death another animal or to ever even think about bring back a human from the dead.

Before setting on this path of magic I was warned by the sleep teachers, that was now years and years ago, I still miss my little short faced kit fox.


No answers, a short glimpse of what may come, a dream maybe, or a nightmare survived. Same story different time.

Prompt from - https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-591-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-rule

Sort:  

Love stories about magic. 😊 🧙‍♂️

It is one of my favorite stories to read also, I like quite a range of books, and no fantasy story is complete with out a little bit of magic, or Godly intervention. I think that is what made all the Greek, Roman, and Norse stories so fun, when the gods got involved.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64241.02
ETH 3178.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85