A 5-5 5 minute freewrite

in #freewrite5 years ago

A 5 Minute Freewrite just for the Halibut

There are a couple of things one just has to do when visiting Alaska. One of those things is to fish for one of the largest sport fish in the world. A fish that has a very nice pleasant taste, and does not have that fishy taste or smell. At least not to me. The Alaska Halibut can weigh up to 440 pounds that is almost 200 kilos. I just had to try to catch one of those. It was cold, it was wet it was raining, and the wind was blowing when our little group went down to Homer and Uncle Mikes Charters for a day of fishing. This was over 20 years ago, I was much younger and not as wise to the world as I think I am now. I would never even try to go Halibut fishing again. It is just to hard. I did manage to catch 100 kilos of fish on that trip, and mine was one of the smallest. I got to tell you though it was a real bitch getting that thing up to the boat. They are not like Salmon, no jumping no trying to run you line off the pole, just dead weight slowly trying to pull you over board as you try to pull in on board. Kind of like pulling a 200 pound water logged barn door up off the bottom of the ocean floor. Those things are heavy and .........

........... time ups now to do some fixing ................ the typo's only....
........... Here is the end ............

It took awhile and I did get the beast up on the boat, and I was pretty much done for the day. Then came the issue of what to do with 100 pounds of halibut. You can't sell it, and being single I could not eat that much halibut in a year if I tried and only had halibut for every meal. You really lose about half of the weight when you clean a halibut. What you have left over after processing that 200 pound halibut is 100 to 120 pounds of meat. Not everyone caught a fish that day only about half of us, so it was not hard to give most of it away. The boat captains are not allowed to keep any of it.

According to records the largest sport-caught Alaskan Halibut was 459 lb (208 kg) near Unalaska, AK, in 1996.
This link has a lot of info about Alaskan Halibut if you are interested. It's a buisness page but still some solid information, I am not affiliated with nor endorsing their service at all. They just have some good information on Halibut.

And now no post is complete with a picture, so here is one of the sunset pictures I captured on Friday evening. I know it should be a picture of a Halibut, but I don't have any of those pictures anymore. Still it was a very nice sunset on Friday.

fridays sunset.jpg
Big View

For being only a five minute freewrite, it certainly does take a lot of time to make a post, it is not like okay here is my 5 minutes, times up hit the post button. The five minutes of writing sometimes hard and sometimes easy, then all the other things have to happen. Like should I continue the writing?...or just let it stand?...should I supplement the writing?...I chose to do that on this one, a little info, and well I do like pictures. It had been awhile since I did a five minute freewrite and since today is 5-5, I thought what the heck why not. I got the prompt in there, but well I kind of feel it was just a half attempt, but Halibut are big fish, and they do taste good, and they are a pain in the arms to drag up into the boat. So if you are young, and visit Alaska, highly recommended experience.

Sort:  

@shadowmask. This is excellent. Loved hearing about your catch of 100 KIlos Of Fish...errr Halibut.
You can do 5 min. #freewrite daily and on weekends there is a prompt to do 15 min ( in 5 min intervals like this one). Post the link to your freewrite on @mariannewest’s post that corresponds to the prompt for the day.
Today’s prompt is earth. Here Marianne’s post to check it out.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-564-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-earth

aww, i lovee to vistis alaska!! First on my list would eb, gear up camera bag ;)
I agree on -take waaay more then 5min to set a post up here ;) LOL
Superb writing, well doen post :D

A camera is a must for any trip to Alaska, so much beauty to take pictures of.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59238.58
ETH 3176.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45