International Insects (5 minute freewrite -Friday prompt: flea)

in #freewrite6 years ago

The first thing that popped into my mind when I saw the word "flea" was that 1960s song about the little Spanish flea. I don't really know the words, but I remember hearing an instrumental rendition of it from time to time. What makes a Spanish flea different from any other flea? I suppose it speaks Spanish, of course, and perhaps is has spent some time in a bullfight (on the bull, I hope). Perhaps it likes to shout Ole! after every fleabite it takes. Maybe it enjoys siestas.

animal-2027432_1280.png

image credit

If this is the case, what about a German flea? Do they yodel? Do they prefer to live on German shepherds? Are they more orderly and organized than a Spanish flea?

A French flea would be fun to see. Only see, mind you. I don't care to house one on my person. Following previous "logic," they have all surely been to see the Eiffel Tower, and are hopeless romantics, which mean they fall in love with whoever/whatever they are chewing on, and will never leave til death do they part.

Alas, I have only seen American fleas. They were on my American cats, and then in my American carpet, and biting my American children's ankles. Then came a massive cleaning session, and sprinkling of Borax in the carpets, and other treatments I've since forgotten, until the little American fleas were all little dead fleas. That's the best kind.

Sort:  

Quite silly...but actually great fun!!!

Glad you were amused by the nonsense!

Haha. funny write up. you are a flea analyst. a Spanish flea getting drunk on human blood and cracking jokes made a funny scene in my head lol.

There's nothing like a great mental picture!

Very funny. And yes, the German fleas are very orderly 😜

I am over half German, and have excellent organizational skills with stuff, but not with time. Ha ha!

This is a delightful and educational little piece LOL. I had to giggle at the Spanish Fly saying Olé!

I often wonder how these odd things pop into my head!

HaHa! Such a cute story! I agree about dead fleas being the best kind. : )

😂 Loved this! I'm with you, the best fleas are dead ones. Would Japanese fleas have a taste for sake? I'm going to be having way too much fun thinking about fleas now, thanks!!

The prompts are ready!
Time to unwind and enjoy!
ezgif.com-resize (5).gif
GIF via giphy

Weekend Freewrite 5/4/18 - Single Prompt Option

Weekend Freewrite 5/4/18 - Part 1 - The First Sentence

Keep up to date with everything #freewrite related!
Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63407.49
ETH 2645.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81