5- minute freewrite weekend single prompt: yesterday (The Vagaries of Weather)

in #freewrite5 years ago

Thursday afternoon there was a whoppin' thunderstorm in the area where my daughter lives. My husband and I were babysitting our granddaughter, so we got in on the storm. It was still raining when we left, so we had to dodge the raindrops as we hurried to the car. When we got home, about 20 miles away, only a light rain shower had passed through.

Yesterday afternoon there was a thunderstorm much nearer to where we live. Still, we only got a modest amount of flashes, noise, and rain. Yet a mile and a half away, friends reported hail had fallen at that time. They were pulling a loaded horse trailer along a curvy stretch of highway, could barely see where they were going, and the sides of the road were white from hail.

20190601_125032_1.jpg

This afternoon I shot this photo right through my dirty windshield on my way to town. Such an impressive cloud! Twice today we have heard one or two thunder rumbles, but the storms passed us by. The air has been hot (for June), and still, and "broody." I am hoping for fresher, cooler air to move in soon.

Photo taken on my Android phone.

Sort:  

Great post @scribblingramma. good photos and freewrite
Upvoted

@scribblingramma It sounds like Florida weather where you can stand in the pouring rain on one side of the street and not a drop on the other side. I like your road. I live on a dirt road but all the roads around me are paved. I don't know if it is this way where you live but here everyone waves at each other on dirt roads but on paved roads no one waves. It is just an observation I have noticed..

I think you are right about paved vs. unpaved, and people waving!

I think you are right
About paved vs. unpaved,
And people waving!

                 - scribblingramma


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Nice shot of the cloud. Same here with heavy rain a few miles away and none here or vice versa.

Thank you! As I said, it was shot through my dirt-speckled windshield, so I was pleased it came out as well as it did.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58118.57
ETH 2462.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38