5-minute freewrite Day 826 prompt: fish fillet

in #freewrite4 years ago

A fish fillet might be what I had for supper tonight, but maybe not. It calls itself Beer Battered Cod, and comes in a box in the frozen section in Costco. Whatever it is properly called, it is a quick and tasty supper.

Because I have connections at the local library, I have been talked into participating in the spelling bee tomorrow. I used to be a very good speller when I was younger. Now I feel as if some of that skill has leaked out of my brain. I've been dutifully studying the list provided, but there are around 1200 words on it! I lived 63 years without ever hearing of prestidigitation, let alone having to spell it. I pity people who learn English as a second language. Why is the past tense of "shovel", "shoveled", yet the past tense of "rebel" is "rebelled"? Both end in -el. And then we have all those words that still look very French or German or Spanish. I can handle glockenspiel because I also speak German, but hors d'oeuvre and bourgeois can be quite vexing. Annihilate, ptarmigan, connoisseur, occurrence....all of these words are now jumbled up in my head. I hope I don't get tossed out in the first round with something like "weird" or "ecstasy." Or "fillet," which I wanted to spell "filet", which is how the French spell it, and I suppose I saw it that way in a cook book.

Wish me good luck!

Thanks again to @mariannewest and @freewritehouse for providing the freewrite prompts and the many opportunities to write!

Freewrite over20.jpg

Sort:  

I do find English one of the hardest if you don't know it already
You just never know which way it is going..

All the best with the Spelling Bee ;D

The History of English Podcast covers a lot of the reasons why English is so strange.

I do need to listen to that!

I think that every second language is strange for those who learn it and spell words is an art.
I wish you the best of success @scribblingramma

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60732.86
ETH 2906.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57