5-minute freewrite Day 824 prompt: radish

in #freewrite4 years ago

When I think of a radish, I usually think of Peter Rabbit and his adventures in Mr. McGregor's garden. Radishes are fairly easy to grow, and I have planted them many times over the years. The only problem is that I don't use very many at once, so if I plant an entire row at the same time, I have too many and some will get woody before I get around to eating them. Ideally, I would plant just a few every week for at least a month, and then I'd have a gradual crop. But I've never managed to remember to do that. It seems like there is so much to remember when one is gardening, even if one has been doing it for years and years like I have been. I'm already thinking about this year's garden. It's a nice thing to think about on a snowy, icy day. Hmm, I haven't gotten any seed catalogs in the mail yet. Perhaps I haven't been purchasing from them enough to stay on their mailing lists. I've been purchasing most of my seeds locally, or else purchasing plants. We used to start a lot of our own seeds in a small greenhouse, but we had to take the greenhouse down four years ago when we re-did our deck, and it hasn't gotten set up again. I doubt that it ever will. So I will support the local economy by purchasing plant starts at the local nurseries. I gardened in moderation the past two years, since my husband was unable to help at all. If he still isn't up to it this year, the garden will likely get even smaller. It is a lot of work and expense to keep it watered during the hot summer months. Maybe I should just frequent the farmer's market!

Freewrite over20.jpg

Sort:  

Farmers Markets are a good thing :) But gardening is too...

Quite. And so the annual struggle begins. Hee hee.

hey, yes it's true! I liked that movie a lot, I saw it very recently with my daughters in the house.

I keep forgetting it has been made into a movie! I grew up reading the books.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58802.33
ETH 3158.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42