5-minute freewrite Day 793 prompt: stove top

in #freewrite5 years ago

Several years ago, the oven quit working in our kitchen stove. The stove top worked fine, but the oven was dead. We have a propane stove in a nearby shed for emergencies, like when the power goes out, so for a few months I trotted back and forth between the house and the shed whenever I needed to bake cookies, or a pie, or a casserole. I was younger then; now I don't think I'd have the ambition to do that. I had kids at home to help, too. Eventually we decided to shop in the local classifieds newspaper for a used stove, rather than invest in a brand new one. We found one, reasonably priced, about 20 miles away. We are still using that stove. My husband has replaced the element in the oven at least once, I'm sure, but it just keeps operating, for which I am grateful.

On the other hand, many of our small appliances recently gave out. The electric griddle, the crock pot, and the hand vac all reached the end of their lifespans within a short time period. I'd rather have $35 items quit on me than $500 items. We are on our fourth used fridge since we bought this house. Only a certain size can be squeezed through the narrow passage into the kitchen, and there is only one spot where it can be placed. I hope this one lasts a few more years! I may have to succumb and purchase a brand new one next time, hoping it will last a long time. But the older ones often last longer than a new one. Appliances were made to last longer, years ago.

freewrite graphic.jpg

Sort:  

It is weird to think that I am the last generation of relatively young people (GenX/Millenial, right on the cusp) who remembers when things were built to last. Everyone older than me is sad about the fact; everyone younger doesn't understand that the world used to be better than it is. It is kind of sad. BUT, keep on with the ingenuity to make things work as long as they can... there are younger people like me who appreciate knowing what is REALLY going on!

I wouldn't say the world used to be better than it is now, but appliances sure were. I suspect it's a combination of factors, including the need to keep prices down as inflation kills the dollar and the economy stagnates.

Ugh. They used to make things better that lasted for more than a year or two. I get terribly frustrated buying something new and expecting it to last for a LONG time, and have it die on me much earlier than expected.

Hope your stove lasts a good long time. We also fix things before just scrapping them.

My husband is pretty good at fixing things, but he has his limits. LOL

I've learned to buy the one with the fewest bells and whistles - it's the fancy electronics that give out first. I've been lucky. These are both the cheapest and the longest lasting. Sorry I came to this party so late!

Yes, that's true about the fancy electronics. Thanks for stopping by! I often get around to reading posts a couple of days later...also comments.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60497.39
ETH 2637.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56