5-minute freewrite Day 747 prompt: Dread locks

in #freewrite5 years ago

My first thought, upon seeing today's prompt, was the hair style that is popular in certain circles today, but I thought that was one word, "dreadlocks." So I looked it up on the internet. It turns out that Dread Locks is the title of a book I've never read by an author I'd never heard of. It sounds sufficiently interesting for me to look for it at the local library and read it. But another idea that came to mind would be the story of the riverboat captain who began to dread locks because it made his trip up and down the river so maddeningly slow. What's that? You never heard of that story? That's because it hasn't been written yet, and all I have so far is the basic idea, so it could be a while before it happens.

It has been a very busy week or two. It seems as if I am rarely at home. Sunday I made it to church, then went to my daughter's house to feed her critter since she was away, and then made a trip to my son's storage unit to get some things. Monday I had an eye doctor appointment, and my vision remained blurry from the dilating drops for about ten hours. That was annoying! Tuesday I helped my other daughter pack some of her stuff so she can move this weekend. Today and tomorrow are my babysitting days, plus tomorrow is my 4th quilting class. I'll write about that adventure some day. Friday I need to go with my husband to a doctor appointment, and Saturday I might go to a local music festival if I have any energy left. Somehow I rarely get around to writing or reading on Steemit any more. I keep telling myself I'll have more time to write when the weather gets nasty for the winter and I don't want to drive anywhere if I can get out of it. Until then, I will likely keep on living life at a ridiculous pace as long as I can.

Sort:  

Crikey, your kids certainly keep you busy. Sounds like if it wasn't for them you'd be a lady of leisure.

I believe you are right!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59737.47
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43