5-minute freewrite Day 707 Prompt: Spider Web

in #freewrite5 years ago

I haven't written a freewrite for several days. That's because I have been on vacation, and freewriting tends to fall by the wayside when I am traveling. I visited my brother in western Washington, and also connected with friends from my school days. I wrote five posts about my trip, and am shamelessly promoting them right now, right here. Ha ha! Now I am going to resume the freewrites, though.

I need to do some extra cleaning at my house. There is a big spider web in the corner of the dining room, up above the stairwell to the basement. It contains an assortment of corpses as well as a spider. It has been there for quite some time now, and I am getting tired of looking at it from my seat at the table. There have been spider webs outside, too, with cat spiders in them, one at our house and one at my daughter's house. As long as they aren't placed where I am going to get tangled up in them, I don't mind them.

But it really annoys me when I am walking through the woods or a meadow and one of those long, trailing webs lies invisible across my path, and I get it wrapped all over me. That's just disgusting.

I like to see spider webs in the grass in the morning, all sparkly with dew. Those are quite ornamental, and I have no problem with those webs.

Sort:  

Have you seen @goat-girlz post about water droplets on spider webs and other stuff? Really beautiful.
I relate to all of this. The corpses in the corner, the invisible threads waiting to wrap themselves around you. I wonder what purpose those serve to the spiders? The certainly are not out to catch us.

Ha ha! I suppose I could do some research on spiders, but it simply isn't my favorite subject. No, I haven't seen the posts you mentioned. I'll look!

At least your house spider is active. They say a house spider brings luck.

I also wonder how spiders can make such long trails crossing a road 🤔

Happy Saturday and good to see you back 💕

Thank you! I think some spiders just let the breeze carry them along while the spider web material trails along behind.

That could be a reason or they crawl whole the way through my garden climb up a tree and continue their job 🤔

I won't kill a house spider. It just seems wrong. Plus I like the piles of, as @scribblingramma says, corpses that a spider leaves for me. Ants. More spiders and fewer ants please!

@owasco But... the ants takes corpes away too althoygh it can be very annoying inside. I had in the past two-three years swarms of ants crawling out the walks, underneath the kitchen.. at my window in the bedroom. Trying to find their way out. I doubt those ant killing boxes work, I believe they eat from the small bags with mouse poison too. This summer there was no ant plague inside. Only flies.

Thanks for stopping by and commenting. I wish you a great Tuesday. 💕

Thank you! (The spider web has been there for months. )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62912.13
ETH 2544.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84