5-minute freewrite Day 697 prompt: Mystery books

in #freewrite5 years ago (edited)

Freewrite over20.jpg

I have been going through my stash of books to see if there are any I can part with. I do thin my book collection from time to time, or else my entire house would be nothing but bookshelves. (I know, some of you don't see a downside to that.) And sometimes I run across a few "mystery books:" whose are they? where did they come from? It's a mystery! Sometimes one of my adult children will claim them, but sometimes we really don't know the story behind those books. (Was that a pun?) There was a stray video in the house for years, some Santa Claus show, and none of us was sure where that came from , either. We might have borrowed it from somebody, but we never did figure that out, so I finally donated it to a thrift store.

In the more traditional sense of the term, I do enjoy reading a good mystery book. I have stayed up very late at night to find out whodunnit. I may have written a book review about one of those here on Steemit. Right this minute I can't think of the mystery book authors I've found I enjoy, but it really doesn't matter. I'm sure everyone has their favorite.

When I was a child, I enjoyed reading Nancy Drew mysteries. I owned two or three of them, and sold them at a moving sale many years ago, not stopping to think my two young girls would want to read them some day. Oops. Things like that happen when one is moving and trying to downsize the heap of STUFF. Some of us in the area are planning a yard sale at the end of the month, and I need to try to sell more stuff, maybe even a few books.

Sort:  

I wish I had a library full of old books. I never did read novels when I was young. I only read picture encyclopedias. My loss. Good luck with your yard sale. : )

Resident cat here, wising you a great day. Here is today's new prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-698-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-a-bunch-of-excuses

Win a Membership in Steem Basic Income - Tell us About a Favorite Freewrite.

I love books but because there is only so much space in a house... I do the same. I have a little free library in front of my house. That way, it goes to new homes for sure...

I like that idea! But, because I live in a rural area, the thrift store is usually the best destination for my discards.

The first paragraph is definitely me as well as my style - no mystery there if you’ve read some of my stories ;)

I don't think I've read much of your writing, but I intend to correct that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60192.33
ETH 2321.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50